How Court Interpreting Sucks: Let me count the ways!

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (51 to 100 of 135)
Page:  « Previous   1  2  3  Next »   Last »

Pablo in Corona, California

31 months ago

Well said Sally !!! And by the way, medical interpreting still IS a demanding job, just not as demanding as court interpreting.

The laws requires that ANYBODY that interprets MUST BE CERTIFIED, at least in california.

I can't wait to finish my studies and be a free lancer and work in courts, law firms, etc!

The BEST thing about the job is that im just a shadow and dont have to think nor stress about anything, just repeat what other people say in a different language !!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

David in San Francisco, California

31 months ago

I find this thread interesting because I am an attorney who sees interpreters interact in the courtroom on a daily basis. I talk to them a lot because I find their personal stories really interesting. I'm a Spanish speaker and thought of becoming an interpreter before I bowed to pressure and became a lawyer instead. For several years I've been thinking of retiring from the practice of law and studying for the interpreter exam.

The comment that interpreting doesn't require one to take the job home seems true and is a far cry from what the attorneys do. We live the job every moment of every day. We're more alcoholic and more depressed than almost any other profession as a group because of it.

I understand the impression by many on these boards that the system is unfair. It may seem unbearable that this is so. However, those who feel that way (with good reason) should separate their livelihood from their personal desire to change the system. Making a living as an interpreter does not preclude someone from going out there and trying to change things in many different ways.

So lighten up and be creative in your approach to the underlying issues.