Jobs and salary for SLPAs in Colorado??

Comments (3)

Sheri in San Antonio, Texas

69 months ago

I am a Community college Sophomore currently (living in TX), and planning on moving to Colorado to finish my undergrad, hoping to get my Bachelor's in Audiology and Speech-Language Sciences. Most likely from the University of Northern Colorado in Greeley, because the tuition is affordable, they have scholarships for out of state transfer students, the school is small, and the town is very CHEAP to live in.

I DO plan on pursuing my Master's degree (most likely also at UNCO), but I am also interested in UNCO's SLP Assistant certificate program (that is offered along with the BS).. so that I can hopefully work a little before going forward to grad school. I know I will have loan debt incurred by that point and I'd like to pay them off (well at least somewhat) before incurring even more debt as a grad student. I am an older, non-traditional student (38) with children, so I can't really see being a full time student non-stop for the next five years with no real income to speak of. I am the type of person that cannot "handle" school full time with working full time, so I am limited in my working hours while in school. It's just a personal limitation that I recognize; I have to REALLY focus on school (but it's been worth it, as I've been making the Dean's list and have had a 4.0 the past 2 semesters, and when I tried to work more than 30 hours a week my grades suffered a lot)...

So, having said all that (sorry, I like to ramble), will I be able to work as an SLPA in Colorado? I don't see many job postings for SLPAs at all there and I cannot find any salary info either. What I see here on indeed.com looks more like SLP pay, I don't think it is correct. Are SLPAs allowed to work in CO with just a Bachelor's? Are the jobs scarce?

Thanks!

ColoSLPA in Littleton, Colorado

64 months ago