What are the best surgical technician qualifications and training to get ahead?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (51 to 100 of 125)
Page:  « Previous   1  2  3  Next »   Last »

shellye in Columbus, Ohio

71 months ago

thank you that was very helpful information. truely appreciae your opinion.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

LMelendez in Overland Park, Kansas

71 months ago

shellye in Columbus, Ohio said: ok i graduated from an accredited school of surgical technology, and want to be a clinical instructor, if i sit for the ncct exam will i still be able to teach? i have 8 years of clinial experience and one year as a surgical tech traveler. help me anyone

You NEED the CST designation to be able to teach in an accredited CAAHEP Surgical Technology Program. I am a director of a program in Jacksonville, FL always looking for experienced CSTs for instructors. NCCT is a competency exam (National Center for Conpetency Testing) NOT a National Certification see www.nbstsa.org

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

71 months ago

i thank you for that info but i thought that they do certify you as a tech in surgery ,but you are still considered certified. i work with a young lady who took the ncct exam because she never attended a school of surgical tech and has 11 years as a scrub and the hospital consider her a CST.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

ConcordeTech in Jacksonville, Florida

71 months ago

You can not be considered a "Certified" Tech based on experience. You HAVE to pass the National Certification Exam. If you do a search for my screen name on this site "ConcordeTech" You will find a couple of other threads where the cretification topic has been disscussed.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

sara in Nora Springs, Iowa

71 months ago