What are the best surgical technician qualifications and training to get ahead?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (101 to 125 of 125)
Page:  « Previous   1  2  3   

Z in Dallas, Texas

50 months ago

Host said: What is the best training for becoming a surgical technician? What types of ongoing training or certifications are necessary to be an effective surgical technician?

What do non-traditional career paths look like?

Hate to disappoint u but surg tech is not what the schools and instructors make it out to be! 1st of all there are alot of accredited schools (yes even CAAHEP accredited) popping up everywhere so there are alot of new grads looking 4 work(contrary to what the schools and gov figures say). I was a recent grad from a CAAHEP accredited school, passed the nat board exam and all the hosp's (even the ones in the middle of nowhere) are looking 4 CST's with at least 2 yrs experience! If u don't believe me go to a job web site and call these hospitals and ask them if they have any jobs 4 someone with no exp! The private schools are very expensive except 4 your local junior college that offers that program. The fed stud loans will cover a very small portion of a priv schools tuition which means you will have 2 take out a huge private loan with a high interest rate! Also, the schools make the profession out to be glamorous but it's anything but that. The pay is not good 4 the working conditions u are exposed to. If you don't believe me go 2 your local large hosp, ask them if u could sit in on various surgeries for a 2 week period because u are thinking about becoming a CST (remember u are making a potentially life changing career choice) and want to see if its the right career for u. The OR atmosphere is very unpleasant. The surgeons (are very impressive people considering the amt of education, stress and are to be commended) but some can be moody and "mean" and if something goes wrong they will quickly blame u(a CST