How will a Surgical Tech grads gain required or perfered experience If a hospital will not hire them? ?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 730)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Romy in San Diego, CA in San Diego, California

90 months ago

I graduated 5-months ago and recently pass the CST.I have applied online and applied going to the diff hospitals in my area like Kaiser Perm.,Sharp,Scrips,Polamar and many others. The problem is most hospitals required or prefered a min 1 yr exp. My only experience is externship which is very limited. How can a fresh surgical tech grad gain a year experience if hospitals will not hire them.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (181) / No (30) Reply - Report abuse

prospectiveadmin in Greenfield, Indiana

90 months ago

Have you considered the military? They are in great need of surgical personnel.

Also, have you considered doing something else? Anything else?

I have been trapped in the debilitating, dead end grind of being a CST for 15 miserable years. It is pure hell trying to escape the CST trap. You can't take traditional classes in order to further your education because of call and general fatigue from scrubbing surgery after surgery for 8-16 hours a day or longer. I won't even go into the needle sticks you will be getting or all the type double "A" personnalities that will have authority over you and will make your life a living hell.

Listen to me.

Chalk what you have done so far up to a good life's experience and do something else.

Do anything else.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (28) / No (38) Reply - Report abuse

Annie in Whittier, California

88 months ago