Is technical writing for me? How hard is finding a telecommuting position?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

animalgeek in Taunton, Massachusetts

21 months ago

I am a 27 year old female ISTJ, which basically means that I am an introverted, loyal, organized, dependent person who enjoys working independently (not with people) and with numbers and facts. I love to organize data, schedules, etc. I like to write, too, and people love everything that I have ever written (essays etc. for school, technical documents for work, etc.). I don't work well under stress and my ultimate goal is to work from home.

I have a B.S. in Computer Science and I'm almost finished with a M.S. in Software Engineering (company paid for it). I've been an unhappy software engineer for the past few years. I took career tests in high school which led me to become a software engineer but I truly think they were incorrect in directing me to this career. I work around and concurrently with people 100% of the time, which makes the work environment highly unenjoyable for me, and the job itself is very stressful because I cannot stand problem solving all day. I actually enjoy sitting in front of a computer and I'd prefer more of my time doing so rather than being around people.

Some people have suggested technical writing. Do you guys think this career path would be a good fit for me? Is a telecommuting position in the field possible to find or is it more of a pipe dream?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

animalgeek in Taunton, Massachusetts

21 months ago

Nobody?

jenab in Austin, Texas

19 months ago

animalgeek in Taunton, Massachusetts said:
Some people have suggested technical writing. Do you guys think this career path would be a good fit for me? Is a telecommuting position in the field possible to find or is it more of a pipe dream?