The Ultrasound field, is it a good thing to try to get into, or should it be avoided?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (12)

Cytofiend in Redondo Beach, California

77 months ago

I am currently a professional who will be laid off shortly and I was looking for my options. Diagnostic medical sonography popped up during my research and I was intrigued. I thought it might be an interesting career choice and got excited about it.

I was excited until I found out that I will have to retake a lot of the classes I already took (I already have a BS in Bio from UCLA as well a postgrad schooling). Furthermore, I was also a little irritated when I saw that at least one of the schools in california has a 5 year waitlist. Are you serious???

My questions are: is it worth me retaking a year's worth of classes? Is the job market saturated in California, or are there still jobs available? (I did a search and found about 6 or 7 jobs in southern cali alone, which isn't bad considering the field I'm in now has NONE.)

Is the ARDMS exam that horrible where nearly 80% of people fail it? I guess what I'm trying to gather here is whether it is worth it for me to go back to school for 3 years to complete a program, assuming I can even get in to Loma Linda, or the other school in LA on my first shot?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

AtlantaAmy in Atlanta, Georgia

77 months ago

I am also interested in this information. I live in the Atlanta GA area. I have a BS in biology and this line of work has always interested me. I've researched some programs here and there are some good schools - at least by appearances.

Anyone out there have any advice on: 1) the job market, 2)which programs are good here in the Atlanta area 3)is it worth getting into this field, or will I just still find myself trained, but still out of a job?

thanks for any input and advice!
Amy

dixie in Boca Raton, Florida

72 months ago