How do I get a job?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (10)

allieoverton in Mukilteo, Washington

97 months ago

Hi I am a 16 year old student that is interested in becoming a vet. I love animals and I really want to get some experience working at a vet office. Is there any way for me to get a job maybe cleaning or something like that? I have been applying but I can't ever find anyone that will hire 16 year olds. Currently I volunteer at the Woodland Park Zoo in the contact area so I have some experience working with animals but I would really like to find a paid position somewhere. Thanks for your help!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (49) / No (13) Reply - Report abuse

Kristin in Jersey City, New Jersey

95 months ago

Hi Allie,
I am a veterinarian originally from Oregon but now in the Manhattan area. I work with small animals and also at a zoo upstate. I saw your posting and it very much reminded me of when I was your age and interested in becoming a vet. I very much understand your desire for a paid position, but at this point in your life you have the unique opportunity of having TIME to do volunteer work, without the NEED of a paycheck. That part doesn't last, and trust me that becoming a veterinarian is a whole lot easier if you get some good volunteer time behind you at a clinic near where you live. They will likely hire you on after you have proven yourself by showing up weekly for a set number of hours for a few months. I volunteered an entire summer at a hospital before they offered me a kennel job. In return I asked for a technician job and they were willing to take me on and train me, because they knew I would be a good employee at that point. That was 10yr ago, and vet school was SO much easier having worked as a technician in multiple practices.

So good luck, and go for it!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (30) / No (10) Reply - Report abuse

lol123 in Houston, Texas

87 months ago