College Graduate wanting to become vet tech

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (26)

margie1129 in Whitefish, Montana

53 months ago

I recently graduated from a four year university in sociology. I have a passion for animals and would like to become a vet tech. I am shadowing a vet tech and observing surgeries to see if this is the right move for me. The one thing I am worried about is that if I will be able to get into an accredited Vet Tech school, even though I do not have much knowledge in biology. Will it be difficult for me to be accepted to these schools, or because I am a college graduate will I just need to take a placement test to see where I am?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (14) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Future Tech in Long Beach, California

52 months ago

Hi Margie!
I also have a bachelor from a 4-yr university. I applied to an AVMA-accredited distance learning program (San Juan College); all of my lower-division requirements met with their program after they reviewed the transcripts (and my biology class was over 10 years old!). Since you have a bachelor degree, there may not be a placement test, depending upon the school and the program requirements, and you may be able to move right into their curriculum. Check the AVMA site for accredited programs in MT.
Since you already work in the field, make sure to let your vet/employer know of your plans, and you'll be able to do your clinicals from the get-go. Good luck!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

T in Pomona, California

52 months ago

Hi Margie,

I heard they just opened up a RVT program in Pomona for Carrington College. My friend who is working as an assistant is looking to get licensed. He said it is not an online course so would have to attend class and internships.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (12) / No (8) Reply - Report abuse

cindy in Fullerton, California

51 months ago