How can i start my own vet clinic

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

Big H in Houston, Texas

47 months ago

i'm thinking about going to school to be a veternary technician,but i don't want to work for nobody want to start my own clinic or animal shelter when i finish school.if you work for somebody ,you'll will only make like $8.50-$14/hr.the only way you'll make alot of money being a vet tech is opening up you own clinic and buing the equipment to do work on the animals.i thinking maybe go to school for a year or 2 to get my certificate or associates degree and then go back 1 more year to get my certicate in business management.can any one give me some advice/tips?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (29) / No (11) Reply - Report abuse

Animal Lover in Olathe, Kansas

38 months ago

It is very illegal I am currently a vet medicine student You MUST attend school for 8+ years and do all of the required work to get the pay you desire. Vet's go through alot of schooling to get to their goals a tech cannot expect to do the same...

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (27) / No (22) Reply - Report abuse

CindyRVT in Henderson, Texas

36 months ago

Note, I am in the same state that he is in. And in fact, I have some experience with this as I was in the first clinic that VCA bought in Texas. VCA isn't owned by veterinarians so they couldn't actually purchase the veterinary practices. They own the facilities, but the practice is owned by a veterinary corporation here in Texas run by an old boss of mine.

" (a) The professional services of a veterinarian may not be controlled or exploited by a person who:
(1) is not a veterinarian; and
(2) intervenes between the veterinarian and the veterinarian's client.
(b) A veterinarian may not:
(1) allow a person who does not hold a license issued under this chapter to interfere with or intervene in the
veterinarian's practice of veterinary medicine; or