Video Editing vs. Corporate Communications

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

TrumpSC in Pearland, Texas

47 months ago

I am a transfer student attending the University of Houston and my original major was supposed to be Media Production. However, I wasn't clear what I was going to use this degree for, and after completing a few searches on indeed.com and other job search websites, I became fearful that "media production" wouldn't yield many job opportunities in this area.

I foolishly changed my major from MP to Journalism and then Corporate Communications, thinking that I might have better opportunities after college. My friend is still in MP and she has taken interesting classes in non-linear editing. As for my current degree, I'm not enjoying it and I'm unsure if many companies are hiring employee communicators (with the exception of HR and Public Relations).

- If I were to change my major back to Media Production, what are several ways that I could use this degree after college? Video editing is one path, but what are other ways?

- Houston is a large city, but surprisingly there appears to be a small market for media professionals. Why is that?

- Should I keep my current degree, and then take the editing courses? The reason I chose MP in the first place was because I have some experience.

My parents want me to graduate this semester, and if I chose to change my major or take more classes, they won't stand for it.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Chris Northcross in Pontiac, Michigan

46 months ago

Wow, sounds like you're in a rather tenuous position. The good news is you've got a lot of options, The tough news is that you need to figure out what you want to do.