How much to charge for video editing

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 81)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

Adam in Babylon, New York

76 months ago

I've been editing videos for fun for about 6 years and recently a relative of a friend has asked me to do some professional work for his business and wants to pay me accordingly. The job would be to edit 4 hours of video down into 1 hour. It's to be a promotional piece for his medical practice. The forums seem to suggest charging $25/hr. Can anyone suggest what a project like this would normally cost overall?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (242) / No (43) Reply - Report abuse

Peter in Haddam, Connecticut

73 months ago

I have been thinking about doing this, but how do I publicize it to people?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (14) / No (15) Reply - Report abuse

Adam in West Babylon, New York

73 months ago

Well first of all I think you need a customer. The first one will help you via word of mouth if you request it. I started simply by making them for free for friends (.. but that was easy because I took the video myself with friends while on art history trips to various countries in Europe). Friends and family of those on the trip were impressed with my work and have asked me to do anything from simply conversion from VHS to DVD to revamping old videos of family events that were poorly done by professionals.

I'd suggest you go to the people that you know and ask them to suggest you to their friends, family and business partners. Once you get that going, start a corporation so that they can make checks out to your company. You'll find more potential customers that way since they'll be able to write those checks off their taxes as a business expense.

Get a website up too. You'll create an image that will draw more work if you have a place to advertise with rates and samples of your work that anyone in the world can access from their computer at home.