The Best Jobs for Vocational Rehabilitation counselors

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

Dave in Orland Park, Illinois

42 months ago

Hi all,

I am just starting out in the Masters program at IIT and I would just like to get a sense of what to expect when I enter the job market next year. Currently I am pursuing a masters in Rehabilitation Counseling along with two certifications(one for psychatric rehab another for Assistive Technology), I was wondering what are the employment outcomes like? Are they better in the midwest(i.e IL) or is the pay much higher south of the border?. Also what do the employers look for in a potential employee? As part of the program we have to do 3 rotations, currently I am working at the Chicago Lighthouse for the Blind doing intakes and one on one case management, I hope to work at RIC next semester and than Thresholds after that. Will having a good internship site lead to better employment outcomes?.

Finally the last question I had for those of you already in the field is regarding M.S vs. PH.D. I know with a M.S my job is going to be more clinical in nature and a PH.D is only good if one wants to teach, but in order to advance in the profession is a ph.d recommended or is a M.S enough?.

Thank you all for reading this post, I know I had a lot of questions, so I a appreciate the patience.

Regards,
Dave

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Morcar in Greensboro, Maryland

36 months ago