Does it worth it to move to Alberta for a welding job? Considering the rent is so expensive there?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 469)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

ManKun in Montreal, Quebec

90 months ago

I am a welder with 2 years exp. I am considering taking a High Pressure welding course so I can get a good job in Alberta, but THEN my friend advice me that the rent and expense are very high over there. Hence I have a question, does it worth the move? Cause I expect to make a lot of money working in Alberta. If the rent would already take out a big chunk of my income, then it won't worth all the trouble going there...

Can anyone tell me the reality of working in Albreta?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (129) / No (56) Reply - Report abuse

brad in Edmonton, Alberta

81 months ago

ticketed journey man with 4 years of school and "B" pressure tickets make around 35 dollars per hour dental and medical plan 80% coverage.companys run from 10 hour days to 14 hour days 5-7 days a week.every 2 weeks about three thousand take home. rent for 1 bedroom apt.is approx.1000 dollars a month just saw this posting now

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (36) / No (17) Reply - Report abuse

Dennis in Toronto, Ontario

79 months ago

ManKun in Montreal, Quebec said: I am a welder with 2 years exp. I am considering taking a High Pressure welding course so I can get a good job in Alberta, but THEN my friend advice me that the rent and expense are very high over there. Hence I have a question, does it worth the move? Cause I expect to make a lot of money working in Alberta. If the rent would already take out a big chunk of my income, then it won't worth all the trouble going there...

Don't fool yourself...just go.The pay is nearly double what you'll get say... in Ontario.Check the rents online in Edmonton and you will be surprised.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (22) / No (8) Reply - Report abuse