Wildlife biology as a career?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (151 to 165 of 165)
Page:  « Previous   1  2  3  4   

Megan in Pasadena, California

18 months ago

Hyark 89
Same situation here. I majored in engineering with a graduate degree, but realized my true passion for wildlife conservation. I would have to disagree with quitting your job to take classes. Classes will NOT get you a job in this field. I got my 2nd BS in wildlife while working full time in engineering. Was tough but I did it. I was very proactive, went to a number of conferences, talked to a number of professionals and professors. The reality is that with a BS, you are looked at as cheap labor both by the employers and professors. Its not about what you can bring to this field, its about getting their work done for cheap. With a BS, you are a tech working in the field for next to minimum wage, no benefits and also temporary. Sometimes I think employers in this field down right take advantage of people's desire to contribute to the environment and conservation of wildlife. I don't wanna be a billionaire doing this, but I mean who the heck can afford to volunteer for a living? or work a minimum wage job for 4-5 years? its costs money to go to school, live, and breathe. Now, if you accumulate enough experience for a professor to consider you for a graduate position (that's a big IF), then you have another 2 years of working for nothing ahead of you to get a grad degree. Once you have a grad degree and enough experience, then you start to shift into management positions, sitting at a computer and dealing with people and politics.