expungement

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

don ware

60 months ago

Hi, I have one felony record from 32 years ago at the age of 18. I am now 50 and my past continues to haunt me. I have applied for several positions and have been turned down after I exposed my past history. I have a BS degree from Rutgers University in NJ and a Graduate Certificate from Seton Hall University in NJ. I am also Licensed as a Nursing Home Administrator in both NJ and NC. I have recently applied for several positions but once I came forward with my past I was turned down. Is there anything I can do to get my record expunged? I would appreciate help from anyone willing to help me. Thanks, Donald Ware

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (11) / No (10) Reply - Report abuse

Steve in Huntersville, North Carolina

59 months ago

Most places only ask about felony convictions in the past 7 years and even then, they can only legally deny employment if the offense is related to the position in question. As an example, if a person were to have a conviction for stealing company funds, an employer could deny or rescind an offer for a role directly involved with cash operations or an accounting function. Without knowing the particulars of your situation, my advice would be to not volunteer a 32 year old conviction unless specifically asked about it.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

tracyj in Maricopa, Arizona

59 months ago

I have a felony conviction from over 7 years ago. We recently relocated and now in the "big city" I can not find a job. "Legally deny employment"? Try the fact that NO ONE will call you, ever!
I have contacted the court where I was convicted and they are sending me the needed paperwork to fill out and petition these records to be expunged.