Part-time work and unemployment

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

tazzy in Denver, Colorado

19 months ago

I'm new to collecting unemployment in Colorado. I accepted a part time job which is really far from my house. I still collect partial benefits. If I'm offered a better part time job somewhere else will it affect me collecting benefits? Can I switch jobs and not have it affect unemployment?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Tazzy in Denver, Colorado

19 months ago

Unemployed Paralegal in Denver, Colorado said: Probably the materials you received from the Division of Labor and Employment stated that one should work as much as possible to conserve benefits - at least mine did. So IMO switching part-time jobs should not impact your benies, except that a better paying job will result in a lesser offset being paid by the State.

You may want to check on what constitutes a part time job for the purposes of collecting unemployment. If your new job is more than thirty hours a week, the State may regard it as full time.

My book wasn't much help for this topic and I've been trying to reach someone for 2 days and the message always says no one is available and to call back.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

Unemployed Paralegal in Denver, Colorado

19 months ago

I dug out my copy of the "Unemployment Insurance Handbook for Claimants." Full disclosure: This book is from 2006. Policies may have changed, but I really doubt it for this situation. Here is what it says about part-time work:

What If I Am Working?

Any employment (full-time, part-time, temporary assignments, short-term contracts, volunteer work, or cash-in-hand jobs such as mowing lawns and babysitting) MUST be reported when you call CUBLine to request payment for UI benefits.