Education

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

Taylor in Houston, Texas

69 months ago

I am a certified elementary teacher and have taught in the public school system for the past eight years. I am currently unemployed and looking for work.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No Reply - Report abuse

Sara in Southlake, Texas

69 months ago

There aren't exactly "tons of jobs" here. Texas is finally feeling the recession and job growth has been slower here. I had an interview at Baylor Medical Center that was scheduled for shortly after Thanksgiving, but has been postponed because of the economic downturn here. I have also seen many more "going out of business" signs than "now hiring" signs. And a few of my friends had to relocate out of state as well due to the lack of good-paying computer-related jobs.

www.dallasnews.com/sharedcontent/dws/bus/columnists/sbrown/stories/DN-recol_05bus.ART.State.Edition1.4ab91e5.html

Not so sure about teachers and Houston but the Dallas ISD recently laid off 375 teachers due to budget constraints. blogs.nea.org/ednotes/2008/10/dallas-school-district-fires-375.html

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

Celeste in Houston, Texas

65 months ago

Mary inTampa in Tampa, Florida said: Why are you unemployed? I have taken the TeacherReady course at University of West Florida for alternative certification, and took the Florida teacher tests (3), am now certified for English 6-12. (This is this past year). I did not get a job.

But I have been told that Texas is THE PLACE to be a teacher, that there tons of jobs out there, (and bla, bla, bla). I have started the Praxis (44 other states use it).

But what about you? How come you're unemployed in Texas when I'm told there are tons of jobs out there?

Hi Mary,