English major who dreams of working at publishing company

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

Carolyn Henry in Humble, Texas

87 months ago

I moved to Houston last month and am having a hard time finding any employment. I have a degree in English and was a middle school teacher for a couple years. With that said, I have decided to move far far away from the education field and would like to realize my dreams of working at a major publishing company (or any publishing company for that matter). I have even worked as a staffwriter for a small newspaper, but there seems to be nothing past freelancing available and I need something with more stability. I love reading, writing, editing and doing research and and am highly experienced in all of those areas.

Does anyone out there have any leads or tips that could help me? I was told that having a degree in English prepares you for any job.......too bad employers don't see it that way :(

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

KidTruth in Humble, Texas

85 months ago

Carolyn Henry in Humble, Texas said: I moved to Houston last month and am having a hard time finding any employment. I have a degree in English and was a middle school teacher for a couple years. With that said, I have decided to move far far away from the education field and would like to realize my dreams of working at a major publishing company (or any publishing company for that matter). ...(

I feel your pain. I'm an English major too, moved to the Houston area, don't know anyone really. I ended up delivering pizza for about a year after I graduated, and I even have a novel out in the UK (Jimwamba.) I ended up taking some dumpy paralegal course, and now I have a pretty decent job working at an intellectual property law firm downtown. I actually make considerably less than a teacher makes, but that's mainly due to lack of experience.