career change

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

ataud1

68 months ago

I am willing to relocate to Houston, TX. I am biligual in both English and Spanish. Currently I am a teacher looking for a career change. One that is an upgrade. In NC the teachers are being let go due to huge budget cuts. Are there any job opportunities out there?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Celeste in Houston, Texas

68 months ago

ataud1 said: I am willing to relocate to Houston, TX. I am biligual in both English and Spanish. Currently I am a teacher looking for a career change. One that is an upgrade. In NC the teachers are being let go due to huge budget cuts. Are there any job opportunities out there?

ataud1,

As large as this place is, it is not immune to this recession. I have a degree in HR and I've moved here in seek of better opportunities. I'm not saying that it's not possible, but it is hard. I ended up working in a call center as a Tech Support Rep (got hired based on my previous experience) where I ended up with training mates who were let go from previous jobs like a Benefits Administrator from Ceridian,, another guy is from one of the major computer companies (IBM I think) where he previous worked in their IT department. I think that you should put your resume' out and test the waters. You actually have an advantage right in front of you. Teachers are being laid off in Dallas due to issues with Dallas ISD failing to manage the budget, so cuts are following. However, the school districts in Houston are actively hiring and they will hit the peak of their hiring activities over the next month or two. I'm actually in the process of getting certified to teach here and already passed my exams. Due to layoffs within other industries in the area, many people are know turning to a career in teaching. It's what's hot right now.

I hope this helps.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse