Why am I not getting hired? Please help me understand

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (14)

bshell1980 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

20 months ago

Please help me to understand. I cannot find a job in Pittsburgh. No matter where I apply, how often I apply, what type of job. I get nothing. I have no interviews. I have applied to at least 150 jobs since August 2nd, 2012. I have 13 years experience in the administrative field. I have an associates in business, a bachelors in legal studies, United States Army veteran, assistant director of admissions, admissions representative for colleges, office manager experience, support staff at a juvenile center, Department of Defense postal worker experience! I received awards in the military, I have all the microsoft experience you can think of. At least 10 years with each program. I am totally lost and I am starting to struggle financially. Maybe some of your insight will help me. I am willing to get any type of information, advice, opinions, whatever. Thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Joe Gagill in Monticello, New York

20 months ago

Truth be told it's very tough for young, old, inexperienced, exp, etc.....

Have someone look over your resume for FREE (maybe the local Dept of Labor office). They even have some free classes there like a class on interviewing.

I wish you the best.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

20 months ago

I appreciate your comment, but I have had my resume looked over by a resume writing service. Still...no job. The free classes for interviews might actually help, but I cannot even get an interview.
Thank you though. I am just starting to get discouraged. :(

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

ToBoeingOrNotToBoeing in Seattle, Washington

20 months ago