Anyone else having a hard time finding employment in Accounting / Finance field?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (11)

Ryan in Cary, North Carolina

69 months ago

So I've been living here for about 15 months, and the only accounting related jobs I have worked have been straight contract assignments.I have a solid 4 years experience and I?m not seeking an unrealistic salary for the area, there is just nothing going on. I?ve pretty much been out of work since the middle of May. I can?t tell you how many different staffing agencies I?ve talked to and it?s all the same story.

I just find it hard to believe that this is supposedly one of the fastest growing areas in the U.S. and I still cannot find a permanent job.

Maybe I?m just unlucky??.

Anyone else in the same situation??
Got any advice?

Thanks

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

pollyanna in East Lyme, Connecticut

69 months ago

I'm in the same position, having been out of work since March. I'm a former CPA with seven years of experience on Wall Street. Due to my career path, I am best suited for a middle management position with a larger organization or upper management position with a smaller organization.

Here in Southeastern CT, the job market is extremely tight. We are seeing a lot of layoffs and it appears that there are hiring freezes as well. I have been the top candidate several times, only to have the position withdrawn due to the economy. In theory, the demand for these types of jobs should go up when the economy is rough, but that does not appear to be the case right now.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Joe in Huntersville, North Carolina

61 months ago