Newcomer's guide to Raleigh?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

Host

What do newcomers need to know to settle in and enjoy Raleigh? Car registration, pet laws, city services, more...

Reply - Report abuse

Rick Tortora in Wake Forest, North Carolina

107 months ago

Once you land in Wake County you have 30 days to register your auto and get your NC License.
The fee's assocuated with regitering your auto are a bit high because you will have to pay property tax of appx.1.1% on the value of your vehicle. Each and every year. Having come here from California this wasn't anything new but for the northerners it's a shock. Insurance seem to be less on all fronts. Speeding 14 mph over the speed limit is a required court appearence and fine of about $200. For more info on schools, tax rates, nightlife home prices etc....visit www.raleighhomesandproperty.com. Good Luck! Rick T

- Was this comment helpful?
Reply - Report abuse

» Sign in or create an account to comment on this topic.