Dish Network Age Discrimination?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (15)

Frustrated in Tulsa, Oklahoma

54 months ago

Due to the current economic situation I feel that I need to get a job with a steady paycheck and not one where I only work for commission. I decided that I would apply for a job with Dish Network.

I have been a Dish Network installer, a manager for a team of Dish Network installers, and a corporate trainer that trained over 300 installers in the proper proceedures to meet Dish Networks high standards. I am probably more qualified than most installers working for Dish Network.

At the end of the application process I got this message "At this time, we are pursuing candidates who more closely fit the requirements of this position."

hmmmm. The only thing that I can think of is that early on in the process they asked me for my age, which is 48 years young. Do you think that they are discrimating towards age? So much for their equal opportunity policy.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (10) / No Reply - Report abuse

Artestwd

52 months ago

I have experinced the same issue of employment, I'm 48 . I have a very good resume with all the quilification that an employer is looking for and time and time again I keep getting turned down. In fact, after the interview I never get a response back. I think we need to pass some employment laws having employers notified canadates why they were not chosen or some explnation in writting for ineligiablity.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Pissed in Beckley, West Virginia

45 months ago

I have had the same problem 4 diffrent times and im 24

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Bitter in OK in Bartlesville, Oklahoma

41 months ago