Coding Specialist
Kaleida Health - Buffalo, NY

This job posting is no longer available on Kaleida Health. Find similar jobs: Coding Specialist jobs - Kaleida Health jobs

Job Description
The coding specialist is responsible for coding,including, but not limited to any type of inpatient and/or outpatient medical records for the purpose of data quality, accurate reimbursement, research and compliance with federal and state regulations. Diagnoses and procedures are coded through review of the entire medical record, utilizing International classification of Diseases and Procedures/or future regulated revisions and Current Procedure Terminology (CPT) Classifications. Interacts with the medical staff on issues requiring further clarification when there is uncertainty in the documentation of the EMR/medical record.

Minimum or Preferred Qualifications
Bachelor Degree in Health Information Management (Medical Record Administration) or AAS in Health Information Technology(Medical Record Technology) required. Certification as an RHIA or RHIT or eligible is required. An additional credential of a Certified Coding Specialist (CCS) through AHIMA is preferred. An American HIM Association (AHIMA) certified graduate of an HIM or HIT program or an eligible candidate for the RHIA or RHIT exam would be considered. Successful AHIMA certification required within 6 months of the date of hire. Candidates are required to take and successfully pass a Kaleida Health coding test. Coding Specialist must maintain credentials by meeting AHIMA continuing education requirements. One year coding experience with ICD-9-CM and CPT Coding and DRG/APC assignment in an acute care facility is preferred. Prior experience with computerized software for encoding and grouping applications. Experience with Microsoft Windows and Office and proficiency in working with computers.

Kaleida Health - 19 months ago - save job
About this company
51 reviews
Kaleida Health provides a kaleidoscope of services to residents of western New York. The health system operates five acute care hospitals...