1. Certifications
  2. Online
  3. Career Step
  4. Reviews

Career Step

148 reviews
Visit website

Career Step - Reviews

Written by an Indeed User on December 21, 2019, 08:48 PM
Pros
Flexible class hours, Good teachers, Affordable, Positive environment, Good career preparation.
Cons
No classroom, hands on training.
Other Comments
Learned much about coding, very little about billing. Many advisors are available for questions after study. Very good testing curriculum. I highly recommend it.
Certification
American Academy of Professional Coders (AAPC) Certified Professional Coder (CPC) Certification
Time
2 years
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this course to a friend.
Written by an Indeed User on December 20, 2019, 08:05 PM
Pros
Flexible class hours, Hands-on training
Cons
Instructors were not available late. Most of the time they were gone by the time I could study.
Other Comments
Hands on learning, no help after 7 pm eastern standard time, training materials were okay. Not interested in writing anymore. Not interested just trying to fill space.
Time
1 years
Price
$ 3500 - I paid for it myself
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this course to a friend.
Written by an Indeed User on December 20, 2019, 11:57 AM
Pros
Flexible class hours, Affordable, Helpful career services, Good career preparation, Hands-on training.
Other Comments
Good quality education. Up to date materials and great student support. Well organized textbooks. The quizzes really help with keeping track of your progress.
Certification
Associate Medical Coding
Time
6 months
Price
$ 3000 - I paid for it myself
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this course to a friend.
Written by an Indeed User on December 19, 2019, 12:36 PM
Pros
Flexible class hours, Affordable, Helpful career services, Positive environment, Good career preparation, Hands-on training
Other Comments
My experience with career step was a positive one. I only wish I had used the resources available to me through the program. I wish they offered new coding books to students that are unable to complete the program in one year. The prep for the final exam was very helpful.
Time
3 years
Price
$ 6000.00 - I paid for it myself
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this course to a friend.
Written by an Indeed User on December 18, 2019, 09:28 AM
Pros
Flexible class hours, Affordable
Other Comments
Very practical and straightforward coursework. I was able to study at my own pace on my own schedule. Courses were also very user friendly as all materials could be used on my laptop or iPad.
Time
2 years
Price
$ 2500 - I paid for it myself
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this course to a friend.
Written by an Indeed User on December 17, 2019, 05:32 PM
Pros
Flexible class hours, Affordable
Cons
Did not equip me enough for the CCS exam.
Other Comments
I never received help when I really needed it. The program was ok, but needed to go more in depth in explaining concepts of coding. I feel it didn’t prepare me enough to pass the CCS exam. I had to purchase material from AHIMA which helped me prepare for the exam.
Certification
CCS
Time
12 months
Price
$ 3800 - I paid for it myself
Overall Rating
No, I would not recommend this course to a friend
Written by an Indeed User on December 17, 2019, 01:28 PM
Pros
Online
Cons
No help in job placement as promised.
Other Comments
Good courses. I just wish it was a better help with placement as was stated when I first called inquiring about program. Cost does include exam, first try. Books are also included.
Certification
American Academy of Professional Coders (AAPC) Certified Professional Coder (CPC) Certification
Time
1 hours
Price
$ 3000 - I paid for it myself
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this course to a friend.
Written by an Indeed User on December 11, 2019, 05:30 PM
Pros
Flexible class hours, Helpful career services, Good career preparation, Hands-on training
Other Comments
Good experience overall. You end up well prepared for the cpc or cca certification and their are lots of jobs in this field i think having some kind of previous experience in the medical field is helpful.
Certification
CPC-A Certificate
Time
2 months
Price
$ 3699 - I received grants and/or scholarship funding
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this course to a friend.
Written by an Indeed User on December 11, 2019, 04:45 PM
Pros
Flexible class hours, Affordable, Helpful career services, Good career preparation
Other Comments
Great program. Learned physiology, CPT, ICD codes, and billing. I enjoyed being able to work on the program from home and go at my own pace. It is hard to complete the program when working a full time job but the advisors work with you to help complete the program.
Time
1 years
Price
$ 3500 - I paid for it myself
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this course to a friend.
Written by an Indeed User on December 9, 2019, 12:44 PM
Pros
Flexible class hours, Good teachers, Affordable, Helpful career services, Positive environment, Good career preparation
Other Comments
Full training program is self oriented. They gives all useful materials. It's not interactive, need to be concentrate. It's difficult but not impossible because of live chat. They provide live chat facility, instructor ready to solve all problems which is the best part in this program. They maintain cordial relationship with students. Nothing is hard if student talk to them. If they provide externship/internship opportunities which will be effective for students. Otherwise hard to get job for new graduate.
Time
1 years
Price
$ 3100 - I paid for it myself
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this course to a friend.
Review this school
Help others find the right course for their next job
Is this page useful?