School, certification or license

City, state

Search
David Pressley School of Cosmetology in Royal Oak, MI
  1. Certifications
  2. Royal Oak, MI
  3. David Pressley School of Cosmetology
  4. Reviews

David Pressley School of Cosmetology, Royal Oak, MI

22 reviews
Visit website

David Pressley School of Cosmetology - Reviews

Written by an Indeed User on July 30, 2021, 09:09 PM
Other Comments
David Pressley took me as a a transfer student who gained 5/11 no (600 of the 1500 hours required while still in high school, once graduated I was able to start the Monday after high graduation 5/2008 full time where I started with my high school credits of 600 and went full time and stayed late for extra hours and came in on Saturdays for extra hours so I could complete the program by 09/2008, which I did, graduated the 9/10/2008, with 1500 required Cos education to apply for state boards, immediately got a state board testing spot, and passed the two part physical all day test, then came back for the written 175 computer question or written test of theory portion, after I passed the 2nd portion I was immediately pulled aside for my photo to be taken and given my instant temp. License card and waited for official certificate of license from lara to arrive in mail and I was legally able to work on clients by 09/26/2008 at age of 17!
Certification
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this program to a friend.
Written by an Indeed User on October 6, 2020, 06:22 AM
Pros
Good teachers, Affordable, Positive environment, Good career preparation, Hands-on training
Cons
I would have liked to learn more about how to sell products.
Other Comments
Great instructors, quality protocols and products. You work hard but you have a lot of fun. Small classroom sizes make it easier to get quality training.
Certification
Time
600 hours
Price
$ 6000 - I paid for it myself
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this program to a friend.
Written by an Indeed User on August 11, 2020, 11:40 AM
Pros
Affordable, Hands-on training
Other Comments
Hands on learning, different perspectives. After 350 clock hours you will be able to practice on the public. School does prepare you to take your state board
Certification
Time
1500 hours
Price
$ 1600 - I received grants and/or scholarship funding
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this program to a friend.
Written by an Indeed User on July 31, 2020, 09:04 PM
Pros
Good teachers, Affordable, Good career preparation, Hands-on training.
Cons
Class hours not flexible at all, only full time option.
Other Comments
Effectively prepares students to pass the State Board of Cosmetology exam. Places a focus on the foundations of hairdressing which are essential to how hair moves and reacts to manipulation.
Certification
Time
1500 hours
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this program to a friend.
Written by an Indeed User on May 28, 2020, 08:59 AM
Pros
Good teachers, Hands-on training
Other Comments
Good combination of classes hands-on training pretty good all around the school Teachers were awesome the atmosphere and the culture was like family Mr. David was amazing and what he does for her students the Technics he showed us he had so much passion for his work.
Certification
Time
1500 hours
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this program to a friend.
Written by an Indeed User on April 2, 2020, 02:01 PM
Pros
Hands-on training
Cons
The lack of diversity in training
Other Comments
A typical day of training started in the classroom and moved to the salon floor. I learned that hair styling is a very segregated profession where stylist prefer staying in their comfort zone as far as textures.
Certification
Time
1500 hours
Price
$ 20000 - I received grants and/or scholarship funding
Overall Rating
No, I would not recommend this program to a friend
Written by an Indeed User on March 17, 2020, 05:36 AM
Pros
Flexible class hours
Certification
Time
600 hours
Price
$ 7000 - I received grants and/or scholarship funding
Overall Rating
No, I would not recommend this program to a friend
Written by an Indeed User on February 1, 2020, 05:06 PM
Pros
Hands-on training.
Other Comments
When I attended this school the owner was present and hands on at 97 years old. It was the best school to go to at the time.It was professional setting and my class got along very well.
Certification
Time
1500 hours
Price
$ 0.00 - I paid for it myself
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this program to a friend.
Written by an Indeed User on January 31, 2020, 11:43 AM
Pros
Good teachers, Helpful career services, Positive environment, Good career preparation, Hands-on training
Cons
The facility itself needed to be updated
Other Comments
Great instructors, taught with high end products, worked with real clients, prepared me very well for passing my state boards and working in a salon.
Time
1500 hours
Price
$ 20000 - I paid for it myself
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this program to a friend.
Written by an Indeed User on January 28, 2020, 11:38 AM
Pros
Helpful career services, Positive environment, Good career preparation, Hands-on training
Other Comments
It was the top school of it's time. The instructors were excellent. It was a very friendly positive atmosphere. I was able to personally train with David Presley. That was a special honor.
Certification
Time
1 hours
Price
$ 1000 - I paid for it myself
Overall Rating
Yes, I would recommend this program to a friend.
Review this school
Help others find the right program for their next job
Is this page useful?

Not at all

Moderately

Extremely

All information on this page, including but not limited to price, cost, instructions, descriptions, and the content of a certification course, is presented for informational purposes only, may be an approximation, is subject to change, and may have been generated by third parties. Prior to enrolling in a course for a certification, please contact the proper school or certification administrators for information regarding certification requirements