We asked 7 job seekers about their Alaska Food Handler Certification. This is what they told us:
- 71% of job seekers said "required for my current job" was the biggest reason for earning their Alaska Food Handler Certification
- 57% said earning their Alaska Food Handler Certification helped them make more money
- 100% said earning their Alaska Food Handler Certification helped them get a job
- 57% said they would recommend a family member or friend earn their Alaska Food Handler Certification
Alaska Food Handler Requirements
Alaska law requires all food workers to obtain a Food Worker Card within 30 days of being hired. The Alaska Division of Environmental Health issues its own State Food Worker Cards, which can be obtained by taking a test online or in person. Tests cost $10 and are valid for 1 year.1
Alaska State Food Worker Cards are not valid in the city of Anchorage. The city requires food handlers to obtain Food Worker Cards through the city, which cost $10 and can be earned through passing a test. The testing fee is $10.2
1. “Food Worker Cards”. Alaska Division of Environmental Health Food Safety & Sanitation Program. Retrieved on January 10, 2020.
2. “Food Safety: Food Businesses”. Municipality of Anchorage. Retrieved on January 10, 2020.
Editorial content last updated: April 2020
Required for my current job
Make more money
Get an edge over other candidates
Help my career progression