160 Driving Academy Employee Reviews

Showing all 24 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work for this company not worth it
CDL Instructor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 18, 2019
Stay away from this company! They are all about taking care of the students before the workers! This is by far the most worse company to work for they want you to let the students get in your face and talk to you any kinda way
Pros
None
Cons
All
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this company
INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 24, 2019
A fly buy night company. Stay away from this company they do not treat the people right always by phone never in person . Repeat do not work for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ever!!!!
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Westland, MIJanuary 4, 2019
Do not waste your time trying to work for this company! Their "management team" is one of the worst teams I've ever encountered! Clicks are formed throughout the company even though you're supposed to be one big happy family. In the short time that I work for the company I never got paid on time nor did I ever see a commission check that was promised to me. The company is so worried about taking over the truck training industry that they completely forget to support the team that they have or to put real time and energy into the schools that they have. There is no loyalty from anyone in this company
Pros
Meeting new students
Cons
EVERYTHING imaginable
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Call Center Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Evanston, ILDecember 3, 2018
160 has good set hours due to different people situations. Good pay for the job we do plus commission. The management is good and they are easy to communicate with and understanding.
Pros
Set hours, good pay
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
160 Driving Academy
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYNovember 17, 2018
160 Management very supportive.
Helping the community improve their lives trough the four week program is a great thing this company has!
Fast growing company, good benefits.
Top of the line technology that makes your job easier.
Continuous improvement is a must!
Pros
Pto
Cons
Cant complain at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional workplace
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Gary, INOctober 6, 2018
Very professional company to work for. Great team to deal with. Awesome company to work for. Great benefits and bonuses. PTOs. Top truck driving school in the country.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 of the worst places to work!
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Hackensack, NJOctober 2, 2018
This is, by far, 1 of the worst places to work! Constant back stabbing, horrible managers etc. You will not last long here! It is also a bad driving school! Do not go to this school to get your cdl! The instructors are the worst!
Pros
Nothing!
Cons
Everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst managed company ever...
Cdl Instructor (Former Employee) –  Saginaw, MI.September 28, 2018
Definitely not worth your time. No advancement. Low wage. No support from upper management. Location management scared to back up instructors at their site. No communication with upper management.
Pros
None
Cons
Instructors have no worth to company owner or upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Company Small Feel Too Many Promises No Return
Recruiting Manager/ Accountant (Former Employee) –  Evanston, ILAugust 8, 2018
I took this opportunity to take on a leadership role within the company. I started as just the Accountant and then I was asked to help with recruitment and be the recruiting manager. I helped implement and strategize the recruiting team. The company didn't want to invest in the infrastructure to truly build a recruiting division.
Cons
no focus on experienced hire only on the student area
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Operations Assistant (Current Employee) –  Evanston, ILJuly 3, 2018
So far 160 has been a great place to work. Personally I have never worked somewhere where the workplace culture is heavily revolved around teamwork. Every time I needed help or had a question, I could go to anyone in management to help me. 160 also has a great work life balance so I am able to spend time with my family and friends. Overall I am satisfied with the company.
Pros
great work-life balance, benefits, team oriented environment
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
geart place to work
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Northbrook, ILJune 1, 2018
I liked working for this company I got a lot of gratification out of this
job. The company was very fair , and I would work for them again.
Loved the fact that you didn't have four walls to look at all the time.
There was always something different everyday and a day to day
challenge. The different personality of students from young to old
male&female.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees treat others badly
None (Former Employee) –  Evanston, ILMay 29, 2018
This is in regards to the Evanston location - every employee I have dealt with at that company has been rude, belligerent and extremely entitled. Being demanding and swearing at others is not a good way to do business. You need to be better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fair company
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 26, 2018
They don't care about their employees despite you wanting to help out and go out of your way. So many issues that need to be fixed and no matter how much you tell management, they will make you to be at fault. Stay far away from this company!
Pros
Flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great place to build a career!
Instructor (Current Employee) –  United StatesJanuary 2, 2018
I've been here over two years, previous reviews from disgruntled people reflect their being let go, not their quitting.
It's not an easy job, but it's very rewarding. If you do your job it's great!
Notice there are only reviews from people who have left. What about the other 100+ people who have stayed, yeah, we love it!
It's a great "Up & Coming" company with an incredible "Ground Floor" opportunity for those who want to do the work. Come Here. Be Recognied. Love your job! Have a Career!!
Pros
Seeing the students pass!!
Cons
NOT seeing the students pass!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 11Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
TRUCK DRIVER INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee) –  Wayne, MINovember 14, 2017
clicks were formed and backstabbing, lieing, not about the students.they did not care about the students facility was horrible no direction or solid leadership.
Pros
none
Cons
backstabbing
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours 8 a day
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Hackensack, NJJune 22, 2017
No benefits no paid time off management has no handbooks of rules and make rules up as incidents occur .the student are ex convicts with bad attitudes.tne safety you train on is only for show .All students pass even the unsafe hours .Too much drama every week .The person that runs the facility is real disrespectful .no vacation no pay time off
Pros
Good 8 hour day
Cons
No pay for overtime no benefits no pay time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company going towards future
CDL Instructor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 26, 2017
The company is growing well towards the future with many different schools, although the training department needs to come up to speed. When you hire different people from many different cultures, then the supervisors should be well rounded.
Pros
Has many different locations to allow individuals to be able to do training closer to their home
Cons
Some things go on death ear with Lead Trainers and Supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work life Balance
Branch Manager/Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILAugust 21, 2016
Great co-Workers. Great students.
Keeping up with the ever changing demands can be rough, but you need to be a team player and roll with the changes. Great School!
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 8Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding position
Instructor (Former Employee) –  belleville IllinoisAugust 19, 2016
work was demanding at times buy when the students passed felt like all the hassels was worth the time and trouble dealing with the student's drama was the hardest part of the job.
Pros
8 hour day
Cons
too much drama from the students
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago Heights, ILJune 13, 2016
Great team to work with. Everyone is very helpful in all aspects! Great hours. Great management. Overall a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 9Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at 160 Driving Academy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.4
Based on 24 reviews
54
44
31
24
111

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
2.3Compensation/Benefits
2.3Job Security/Advancement
2.3Management
2.3Culture