3M Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to finish out your final years of working
Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Park Rapids, MNOctober 16, 2018
Its an ok place to work, The People I work with make it an enjoyable place, and the management team arent the worse Ive ever been with. Like any placee you work there are good and bad points, I would over all say the PROS out weigh the cons.
Pros
Free lunch, helpful co workers, and scerenic work environment.
Cons
Nepitism is rampant, and pay is sub par.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worl place was very friendly and safe.
Quality Inspector II (Current Employee) –  Canoga Park, CAOctober 16, 2018
I learned here many things NCMR, CFR. and I was working for Final inspection, back to processes, Inspect art work. work place culture is good. people are nice and co opertative, superviser are nice and very friendly.
Pros
no lunch paid time
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with many career opportunities
Senior Brand Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Paul, MNOctober 15, 2018
3M is a great company where you can experience global reach and be exposed to so many different ways to grow yourself. Hardest part of the job is adaptation to changes that happen every time a new management comes into action.
Pros
Open environment, flexible hours
Cons
Short-term targets driving most management decisions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work place
3m operator (Current Employee) –  Brownwood, TXOctober 15, 2018
laid back only worried about you getting your job done and showing up on time to work . if your willing to do that and be there when you are supposed to be then you have a job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funney work place
Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  Thulhiriya,WarakapolaOctober 15, 2018
This company is best for jobs as well as some kind of people right there.
Manager and management is better than other companies.I would like to join with your company as a part timer to earn money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Requirement
Loftware Label Designer (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNOctober 15, 2018
they have placed support analyst in to dev environments and expecting dev knowledge later. that was hard for a support guy with rich production support experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
CAM Cutting machine (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, MNOctober 14, 2018
3M takes care of their employees. Everyone had a great attitude and were willing to work together. Management was grwat and very safety oriented. It's just hard to get in because nobody wants to leave!
Pros
The company takea care of their employees
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILOctober 14, 2018
Its like working in heaven
Best employer ever

You are able to work on vacation days before regular shift starts and get pay double.


If you worked 1st shift and have a Drs appointment you can worked 2nd shift for that day and don't miss worked or get points
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3M Loved this place!
Optical Injection Molding Technician (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 13, 2018
I wish they had not closed or moved, or i would still be there. Culture was ideal, group hard-working. Respectful group, secure, and had opportunity as wanted/needed.
Pros
Culture, Mgmt, Co-Workers
Cons
Closed Plant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 12, 2018
I enjoyed working with 3M. It was a fast paced environment and while I was only there for a short time period, I enjoyed the work and co-workers. Management was very supportive and pay/benefits were as expected.

The con to working at the plant I was employed was I was there for approximately 1 year then learned the plant would be closing.
Pros
Excellent Pay and Benefits
Cons
Plant Closure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive enviroment
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNOctober 11, 2018
85% nice and easy going employees. needs keycard to access different areas of the building. no set break time for warehouse members. Supervisor was hardly around so the team had to compromise.
Pros
fast pace in warehouse
Cons
no supervision on all shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
General Labor (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 10, 2018
I was a “contingent” worker and was always reminded that, everybody was like little kids taddle telling on somebody about the smallest things, was always mandated to work overtime every weekend, i hated it
Pros
Music
Cons
Mandatory overtime every weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect job
Warehouse Operator (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILOctober 9, 2018
3m is an amazing place to work its perfect the co workers ans supervisors are very easy to get a long with there is music to help keep everybody focuses and there are meetings during every break to keep all the workers up to date
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but fun place.
Help Desk Specialist (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNOctober 8, 2018
Plenty to do and lots of help when needed. The knowledge base that they have is substantial, to say the least. It is often updated and it's the techs that submit the updates to stay current.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place team oriented
Soft-Goods Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Red Wing, MNOctober 8, 2018
I enjoyed my time with 3M. They gave me as opportunity to advance and compensated well. Awesome workplace culture. Free donuts once a month and company lunches.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
National Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Golden, COOctober 8, 2018
I got to work with all varieties of life from graphic designers to installers. Was extremely empowered and had support from anyone when needed. They closed operations here in colorado and moved them to minnesota.
Pros
Telecommunte when needed
Cons
No ne
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent job for big company
Order filler/lead operator (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILOctober 8, 2018
It is great to work on a big company, good salary, excellent benefits. Working on a safe environment and no one will bother you as long as you do your work.
Pros
company picnics, Christmas party, good employee appreciation
Cons
lots of overtime year around
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from 3M
October 12, 2018

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed working for 3M.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Degree requied regardless of skill and experience
Doesnt matter (Current Employee) –  Doesnt matterOctober 8, 2018
It seems they require a degree for all IT positions regardless of experience and skill set. Maybe one day they will wakeup to the fact that their hiring practices are flawed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never work for 3m
Quality Assurance Engineer (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 7, 2018
This is the worst job I ever had. It didn't last 3 months. They didn't know what they want or what they're doing. I would refuse working for them ever again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People Great Customers
Regulatory Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis-Saint Paul, MNOctober 5, 2018
Have not had many, if any negative interactions with customers or coworkers. The cafeteria's are all really nice, great food choices for all diet plans.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from 3M
October 9, 2018

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you love working here.

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at 3M. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 2,749 reviews
51.2K
4902
3448
2106
1101

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

3.3Fairygodboss Score

53%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

60%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.