5/3 Bank Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 28 reviews
Ratings breakdown
511
45
36
24
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 28 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Banker (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INJanuary 16, 2018
Unattainable sales goals and pressure.
Very high turnover rate/employee retention.
Lack of training for position.
Unhealthy work environment.
Poor leadership from upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like working for the bank
Teller/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Matthews, NCOctober 19, 2017
excellent bank good services nice employers and workers team workers customers accounts were good for working types of account balances customers liked 5/3
Pros
lunch some times free
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked it
Payment Processor (Former Employee) –  Oak Lawn, ILJune 5, 2017
Great work environment and people all around. Everyone was very helpful. I learned a lot in the short time that I was there. They always had food too.
Pros
Free food on occasion, could listen to music while working.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Teller (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVMarch 29, 2017
I opened and closed branch. I maintained a balance drawer daily. It was a small team but we all got along like family. The customers became family as well. I had to leave job due to a move to Oklahoma
Pros
flexiable hours and days
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome management
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 22, 2016
I had an awesome experience working fifth third I had great co-workers and an awesome manager, a typical work day was about friendly competitions between coworker while still having fun the hardest but ultimately rewarding part about the job were the customers, getting to help them out with their needs and helping them save money any way possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 21, 2015
The benefits are among one of the major reasons anyone might strive to work at this company. Paid tuition is also a PLUS! GREAT PLACE
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Consumer Contact Center Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 9, 2015
I have learned a lot in my tenure at the bank, and feel it is a great place to learn and grow. There are many opportunities to learn different lines of business, and to grow your knowledge of the financial world.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful & expect you to fit the mold
collections (Current Employee) –  grand rapids miAugust 21, 2015
Overall very highschool clicks. If you are not in the circle you are shunned. I try to be friendly to everyone and get yelled at by some or the cold shoulder from others ( dept coworkers) does not seem to be accepting of others or friendly. My daily job is push push push. Not allowed to shine as the friendly helpful person i am.
Pros
benefits paid holidays
Cons
work enviroment, job, coworkers lack of care for others
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and excellent on boarding training.
Lead Teller (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLAugust 21, 2015
Enjoyed working with the bank. Company offers plenty of job advancement opportunities with excellent benefits for their employees. Worked with a great team during my time in the branch and in operations.
Pros
Benefits, career advancement, positive work environment
Cons
Large corporation, risk of robbery
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5/3
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 16, 2015
Small bank, small staff that are invested in helping customers and working together. Management is supportive and determined to promote employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and great place to grow
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 6, 2015
It is a very fast paced environment that still allows the interaction between co-workers to be able to better serve the customer and to help each other grow personally and professionally.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work relationship between tellers.
Teller/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Smyrna, TNJune 9, 2015
I had good support from fellow tellers. I had two managers leave the branch during my time there, so it wasn't a stable work environment. The staff that was there the whole time I was employed was amazing. I was offered the job as a teller for 4 months and at that point I was supposed to be promoted to personal banker. However, I had paid out for the test and training and they denied me the position to hire another employee for the position.
Pros
good support system from other tellers, good benefits.
Cons
no stable management, no scheduled breaks cause short staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everbody has to start somewhere
MERCHANT SERVICES SALES CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Mission Viejo, CAFebruary 9, 2015
100% You are your own boss, except you were micromanaged by 2 vp's and a sales manager. Half the employees were let go when they failed their background check that should of been at time of hire, even my first sales manager. It was a good place to get my feet wet in the payments industry
Pros
Free training
Cons
Micro managing straight commission employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day as an OutReach Advisor
OutReach Advisor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NC, Columbus Ohio, Cleveland OhioJanuary 23, 2015
We were held accountable by doing Daily Reports of all contacts made the prior day - Our schedules were flexible in the sense that our first stop at a customers home was around 8:00am --- We would end up working till 9:00pm depending on how our day went --- our main objective was to catch the Consumer at home and offer them several options in bringing their accounts current -- We worked from our home offices - Our incentive was based on how many contacts were made and how we were going to assist in correcting their situation at hand...The hardest thing about the job was making the initial contact and then not working more then 40 hours per week --- the most rewarding part of the job --- was making contact with these folks - while working with them in finding a resolve to their current situation --- it was great in knowing that I was apart of the process of allowing our Customers to stay in their homes.
Pros
working one on one with the Customer, the incentive, flixability of schedule
Cons
We were unable to work more then 40 hours per week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Teller (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLSeptember 17, 2014
I learned alot about how to handle money. A typical day at work consisted of getting all of the work done for the day including attending to all the customers that walked through the door and satisfied their needs, but with also having room to be able to play and communicate with one another once all the work was completed. The most challenging part of the job would have to had been trying to meet all the goals for the day such as trying to get customers to open up new products that would benefit them. The most enjoyable part was being able to work with all the teammates even if we did not meet goals, we always tried coming up with another plan for the next day that could possibly help us more then the day before.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5/3 is a great place to work
Network Control Operator (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 27, 2014
A well managed company that is supportive of both employees and the community.
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
...
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forever A Teller
Customer Service Representitve (Current Employee) –  usaJune 27, 2014
Banking is way better than retail, better pay, paid holidays, good benifits, and great hours...but if you want to advance, forget about it.

The "higher-ups" are snobbish, fake, and lie so much, they begin to believe it. Your told what you want to hear, in order for them to get what they want out of you, referals! Every day, you are pushed to meet goals, and get product referals. And when you exceed your goals, they go up. There are some small incentives, but they sell you a whole idea of making $100s extra on checks, and that's almost impossible. When you do outshine the others, you're, again, told what you want to hear (promotions for example) and when time comes for that "promise" something falls through. "BUT WAIT, in 3 more months, this will happen!" and then, as history so often repeats itself, it doesn't work out. I couldn't begin to tell you the "butt-kissing" that goes on at 5/3. In order to grow, you have to minipulate, lie, even cheat your way to the top.That's not in my character to do so, and because of that, I will never be more then a teller here.
Pros
banking hours
Cons
Basically you fight a losing battle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
coffee shop
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  DeLand, FLJune 26, 2014
Family business. Internship offered. great venue and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job description
Disputes Resolution Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 9, 2014
answering incoming calls in a fast pace call center environment. De-escalating calls and speaking with customers who claim that they have fraud or billing errors on their bank accounts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best bank to be with
teller (Current Employee) –  Sharonville, OHFebruary 17, 2014
A bank that really care about its customers and its employees. The environment is fun, great and the management team always keep you on your toes.
Pros
love the environment
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at 5/3 Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question