84 Lumber Company Employee Reviews

Found 524 reviews matching the search See all 527 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours little pay
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Riviera Beach, FLAugust 16, 2018
don't understand the concept of competitive pay, expect a minimum of 50 hours a week. management will change the way that you are a paid regularly to get themselves a better bonus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Manager Trainee (Former Employee) –  Coraopolis, PAAugust 13, 2018
84 Lumber helped me to be disciplined and follow a set of guidelines to ensure my ability to become manager at the next open position. Very structured and dedicated people. This is a job I did not want to leave.
Pros
Routine
Cons
Routine
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bruh
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  United StatesAugust 10, 2018
A typical day at work you are always outside so dress for the weather always. I learned at this job you have to put your job over your life. The management was ok they never tried me because they know wats goin on. Hardest part of the Job was when I would come in early mornings and have to smell my boss chitty morning breathe. That chit was the worst .
Pros
Giid
Cons
Bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Madison, ALAugust 9, 2018
i liked the job, got to play with forklifts. the last manager i worked with had absolutely no people skills or logical reasoning abilities. i was laid off only because i was the last one hired, while the convicted felon that stole from the grounds was retained. i have learned that since my 'departure' that mgr is no longer there
Pros
good people, decent pay, laid back atmosphere
Cons
last manager i worked with had no people skills, or logic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work extremely stressful and frustrating the working hours are hard hardly get anytime off sometimes work through lunch
Cordinator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 5, 2018
This company is a great job for quick money but not for something long it’s too stressful for anyone who works there all my coworkers have talked about leaving
Pros
Good paycheck and hr lunches
Cons
Hardly anytime off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best part about work was the coffee machine in the break room
Counter Attendant (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaAugust 2, 2018
Wasn't fully explained all the tasks that would be needed to be performed daily in day to day operations. Every single little detail was yours to worry about at the counter unless it was a high paying customer then the salesmen were on them like ticks on a hound. You had to man the counter, keep up on phone calls/leads, and somehow patrol the entire lumber yard in order to keep up a clean environment/help out any customers who may be just wondering around. Was told after being hired was not a guaranteed ability to promote to manager, but those who worked as a regular employee until a manager or assistant manager position opened up at a store would be given first chance. Yes you could move on to other jobs like salesman or dock worker, but this is not what is discussed at any point in time until after you sign your contract.
Pros
decent coffee machine paid for by the sales team
Cons
long days, long nights if cleaning had to occur, no time to learn anything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Way too many hours for what they expect for you. You have the opportunity for bonuses, but that’s if your store is lucky enough to hit its levels.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Ranson, WVJuly 29, 2018
Not a bad company to work for. But they need to get with the times and offer a little bit better base pay if they want to keep good employees around. The bonus incentives are nice, but when your store doesn’t hit its levels every month it can be very disappointing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
Co-Manager/ Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Bethel Heights, ARJuly 24, 2018
84 lumber was an average lumber yard to work for. They really didn't wow me with anything they did, nor did the come up short of expectations for a job. It was a good place to get some groundwork management experience in at.
Pros
promote from within
Cons
compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field merchadising
Field Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Eighty Four, PAJuly 17, 2018
Had it’s good side. I enjoyed be freedom and the travel. I like being able to use hotel point and airline miles for vacation. Down side is being away all the time.
Pros
Travel
Cons
Never being home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work place
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 12, 2018
Very good company loved the benefites that were provided the company is very understanding when emergencies accord. The supervisor was very respectful. The employees were team players and if would help you if you needed some help with loading the material on the trucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is not for th faint of heart.
Door Assembly/ Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCJuly 11, 2018
84 Lumber has a very smart system but it never works well with the employees or management. They have too much stuff to do and not enough time to do it so it becomes very stressful on the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and develope a career in construction sales and management.
Contractor Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Charlotte Hall, MDJuly 11, 2018
• Responsible to serve as 84 Lumber’s first point of contact with numerous private and commercial construction contractors. Provides various construction trades with capable and proficient assistance on project material requirements, while establishing and maintaining cohesive customer relations.
• Works closely with the customer, ensuring customer requirements are clearly understood. Performs blueprint takeoffs for accurate estimation of material requirements and quantities required for all contractor construction projects, from start to finish, without delay or shortages.
• Conducts face-to-face consultations and meeting with customers, both at the 84 Lumber facility and in the field at diverse construction sites, in order to gain comprehensive insight into customer requirements. Superior communication skills enable cohesive relationships.
• Constantly explores new business ventures throughout the extended Southern Maryland and Northern Virginia communities, always on the lookout for potential customers to expand 84 Lumber’s private and commercial customer base.
• Rapidly advanced from entry position of Manager Trainee to Contractor Sales Representative after completing a company mandated intense self-study course. The course encompassed the full scope of the construction industry, completing the course with a 99% grade.
• Effective customer relations, approachable personality, and proactive leadership style consistently produces customer satisfaction and positive customer feedback.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great company at one time
Assisted outside salesman (Former Employee) –  Milton, WVJuly 9, 2018
This company was great when they had a simple structure and they adhered to that. Everyone came in at the bottom and had to work their way up. That is no longer the case and since they have strayed from their original structure the company has had to close stores nationwide. Fewer stores means fewer opportunities to promote and with the pay structure they cannot keep employees. Its sad to see what greed and poor management being overpaid has done to this once great company.
Pros
Great learning/training program
Cons
pay/schedule/promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Manager Trainee (Former Employee) –  Oakland, MDJuly 8, 2018
84 is a well run company with good advancement opportunities. I enjoyed my time there and still have many friends from there. its a place I would go back to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The grass is not always greener on the other side
Install Manager (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PAJuly 7, 2018
I was not happy working here. Its a lot of smoke and mirrors. That is all i have to say about working for 84 Lumber. I do not like to speak badly about any employer that i have worked for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Yuma, AZJuly 7, 2018
Got to be good in sales. Warehouse jobs open every month. Yards are well known to be in order. Bonuses for sales available every end of the month and also personal sales bonuses.
Pros
Quick and settle environment
Cons
Short breaks non paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Co-Manager (Current Employee) –  Naperville, ILJuly 4, 2018
Your day at 84 Lumber is fast paced from open to close most days. Ability to balance multiple tasks at once is a must. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to help customers figure out their specifics for their job and helping them to understand what they're looking for in their material.
Pros
Bonus structure is nice but the majority of it is out of your control
Cons
Long hours, lots of walking, lifting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work. Everything was fast paced but i liked it.
Truss Builder (Former Employee) –  Clover, SCJuly 2, 2018
84 was an amazing job. Sometimes it has its pros and cons but it was always easy to work through them.
It was fun and time consultant in a good way.
Everything was fast paced and you always had to be on go. Other than that it was a good place to be employed.
Pros
Good benefits, pay
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Make a Career
Co-Manager/Store Manager (Former Employee) –  West Springfield, MAJune 28, 2018
Very good company that provides the education necessary to be successful. It can be stressful and long hours but it also can be very rewarding. Strongly recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable people
Shipping Clerk / Retention (Current Employee) –  Eighty Four, PAJune 27, 2018
I love working with the people but there is no balance for the company. Raises are lacking, want to stay there but I do not see a future. Very secretive company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at 84 Lumber Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 527 reviews
5108
4163
3149
246
161

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight