84 Lumber Company Employee Reviews for Co-manager

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 520 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5108
4161
3146
246
159
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 43 reviews matching the search See all 520 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Make a Career
Co-Manager/Store Manager (Former Employee) –  West Springfield, MAJune 28, 2018
Very good company that provides the education necessary to be successful. It can be stressful and long hours but it also can be very rewarding. Strongly recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Managers are rough to work for
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Bluefield, WVApril 14, 2018
Good work environment. Hot in the summer, cold in the winter. No heat or air. New manager was lazy. New employees were not up to
standards. They hired people with a very poor work ethic just to fill a position.
Pros
Discounts and benefits
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Climate tough place to work
Sales Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  New Castle, PAFebruary 22, 2018
Long days physically challenging
Sales and profit and loss
Management was helpful
Culture was fun and fast paced
Dealing with the hot and cold of the facility
Customers
Pros
Compensation
Cons
No temperature control
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not like to write a review
Co Manager (Former Employee) –  Waldorf, MDJanuary 28, 2018
I do not care to write a review at this time
I don't like the fomat of having to write a review
This should not be force on me to file out a application
There are other sites that i could use an
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A successful, hard driven, diverse, and familial retail lumber yard
Co-Manager (Current Employee) –  locationJanuary 14, 2018
If you are an individual who is hard working and who wants to gain managerial experience, industry knowledge, retail experience, and promotion opportunities 84 is a great company to work for. You need to be focus, hard working, and willing to give up the time.

84 invests and equips their employees with so much knowledge and experience - if someone can endure the 6ish months of the Manager Trainee role in order to be promoted to another position at a successful store, it pays off with even more experience and financial stability.

I would say it is not for everyone and if you are looking for an easy job - you will not last or be promoted. I also would say the long hours do not provide a healthy long term work setting, yet it does equip people with the experience to grow and move into other industries. The long you endure and harder you work to gain experience the more benefits you gain, yet the less time you will have.

I have been very successful in the company, yet do not want to put the burden of the long hours on my family. I can look back and confidently say that I was a main reason for the success of the stores I have worked in, and helped customers achieve their dreams.

Qualities required: hard working, responsible, professional, self motivating, humble, and personable. You will work with and serve clients of all statuses and ethnicities. You are required to be clean shaven.
Pros
Self Study Program (educates), Job Advancement Opportunities (promotes), Health Insurance, Benefits, & Some Time Off (invests)
Cons
Long work hours, very broad job responsiblities, no work & life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and long hours for managers
Co-Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 14, 2017
Decent pay when you hit quota. As a manager there is many obstacles and battles to fight to make improvements. Somewhat dysfunctional because many people are not on the same page, poor communication.
Pros
Flexible work hours for non management positions
Cons
Stresfull
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a overall bad place if you have right conditions
Co-Manager/Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, OHAugust 9, 2017
If willing to move and put in 50 Plus hours a week.
Not a bad job at all.
Benefits are great.
The long hours will catch up over time.
Great place if you are willing to move all over.
Pros
outstanding co-workers
Cons
stress, long hours poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Co-Manager/Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Buckhannon, WVAugust 4, 2017
Store managers need a lot more training before being put into that role. Some managers are way to young to deal with people on a day to day basis, very egotistical
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours but Plenty of opportunity to advance
Co-Manager/Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Chaffee, NYJuly 19, 2017
84 Lumber's goal is for it's employees to succeed. there is plenty of opportunity to make a lot of money with this company, but you have to be competitive, a driven individual, and be willing to spend more time at work than at home.
Pros
Pay, and advancement
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hours in, but rewards are there
Co-Manager (Current Employee) –  Dillsburg, PAJune 28, 2017
With 84, you are a company man. Generally one will work 48+ a week. The compensation is there, but it can be a very stressful environment. Room for advancement is there as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is a real path to success, but it's a coin flip
Co Manager (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSMay 27, 2017
I spent a little over a year working for this company at two separate locations. I could definitely see a good potential career, but it's hard to succeed if you're in an area with bad store managers and a weak area manager. The Louisiana-Mississippi market is such an area.

The first store I started at was mainly composed of co-manager level staff that were drinking buddies of the store manager. Predictably, this failed horribly, but the store manager wasn't terminated. He was simply moved into a sales role where he likely makes even more money.

The second store I worked at was a better fit, but still a disaster. The employees who complained the most and shirked work were given a voice and allowed to do what they want.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Poor work-life balance, low compensation, too much lee-way for individual store managers to do what they want.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail environment
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GAMay 5, 2017
Check inventories, load trucks, direct employees
Forklift driving skills, and building materials knowledge
Local management was very easy to work with
small group of people in each store.
Ordering
Going to work was not all bad
Pros
Store Autonomy made it low stress
Cons
Long commute to any of the stores
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy job. Not paid enough at all
Co-Manager, June (Current Employee) –  Moundsville, WVApril 5, 2017
Always busy. pay is terrible for what you have to put up with.
Good training programs to learn more about anything you are not to sure of. computer system is out of date and can be hard to get used to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding to the right people
Co-Manager (Current Employee) –  New Castle, PAFebruary 8, 2017
You are rewarded for how hard of a worker you are with this company and they welcome any hard workers no matter the background.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
your experience will vary greatly based on store and area
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Wext VirginiaJanuary 10, 2017
This company can be great and I've heard that it is in certain areas of the country (north central WV is NOT one of these great places). Word of advice though, research your areas construction market before joining as your pay will depend heavily on the stores income.
Pros
Bonus structure
Cons
Also, bonus structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was such a great place to work
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Plainville, CTJanuary 4, 2017
I liked this job a lot. I really liked being in a managerial position. I feel like I did really well at this. All the employees were treated very well. Unfortunately I moved back to NY and tthey didn't have a position for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day experience differs depending on location
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCAugust 22, 2016
Enjoyed working there everyday at the store I was at, store manager was fantastic and helped many co-workers advance at that store, When I was promoted the work experience changed drastically, and quickly turned into a hostile environment that I could no longer work in.
Pros
Room for advancement
Cons
Poor work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy
Co-Manager/Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SCJuly 21, 2016
Great company for anyone who is driven and ready to work hard!! It is a demanding job with a lot of hours but is worth all of the rewards if you are hitting bonus goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No balance
CO-MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Mechanicsville, MDJune 14, 2016
Systems are outdated, terrible worklife balance. Great job for somebody just entering the workforce and trying to gain experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Co- Manager (Former Employee) –  Richland, MSJanuary 22, 2016
would not tell people about this job didn't want black people working on the inside all they wanted was for them to work outside
Pros
great pay
Cons
not a good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at 84 Lumber Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight