A. O. Smith Corporation Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 206 reviews
Ratings breakdown
571
471
343
211
110
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 179 reviews matching the search See all 205 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welder
Welder (Current Employee) –  McBee, SCJuly 8, 2018
what you make it. I mind my business work and go home. my department when you hit your number you get off early but ingress it all depends on how you work also.
Pros
pay
Cons
what you make it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very quiet, mondane atmosphere
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TNJuly 2, 2018
The job was a little boring because it was a different day doing exactly the same thing as the day before, exactly the same thing from the week before. very tense work environment, odd work hours
Pros
job provides an income
Cons
constant phone and work monitoring and interuptions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing place to work and lots of opportunties.
Material Clearance Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ripley, TNJune 8, 2018
This was a great place to work and people to work with. Enjoyed the company and you had great opportunities to advance. Worked as a team and communication was great.
Pros
People and professionalism.
Cons
Healthcare job opportunities and retirement funds.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I recommend AO Smith in KY
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Boone County, KYJune 5, 2018
Protective Coatings in is a dirty, hot, safe place to work. Workload not too bad. Work/ life balance can suffer for those working in processing. Pay is average. Usually hire from base of temporary employees.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Sometimes too much O.T.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Ashland City, TNMay 30, 2018
This is a nice place to work, the pay is really good for the work and effort, some of the jobs are more difficult than others and the people in management are really friendly.
Pros
a lot of overtime
Cons
it gets hot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To much playing bad mangment
Former employee (Former Employee) –  Ashland City, TNApril 21, 2018
Alot of playing on the lines lead on line one nights create end plays alot. I think his last name is williams you have the safety lady nora taking pictures while line is running safty issue. The coordinator andrea is playing with the workers her phone is always out and its not being work related down in tank end the assembly manger was in jail for spouse abuse. I think his name is joe. Employees are scared of joe
Pros
Good coworker
Cons
To much playing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charlotte Location was Great place to work
SR Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 13, 2018
Great team less the Plant Manager (no longer there) who drove off all of the staff at the two locations he controlled. Plenty of new equipment and support from upper management. I loved working for AO.
Pros
Team
Cons
Plant Manager (No Longer with Company)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Production Worker / forklift driver (Former Employee) –  Florence, KYApril 8, 2018
this was a great place to work i would tell everyone that is looking for a job to apply at A.O.Smith they are like a family to who ever works there the have respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Inventory Control Clerk (Current Employee) –  Johnson City, TNApril 8, 2018
Laid back environment. Good place to work. The people are great. Sometimes it can be hectic, but everyone pulls together to make sure that the job gets done on time.
Pros
Benefits, pay.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to work independently.
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ashland City, TNApril 6, 2018
AO Smith was a good place to work. Making production attainment with a lack of employees to staff the various jobs. The relationships that was built with the employees.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Distance to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Paced, challenging work place, with a lot of knowledge to learn
Worker (Current Employee) –  WAApril 6, 2018
It is an interesting place to work, I have had fun working here. lots of things to learn, great place to enter in the field to gain hands-on work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Welder (Former Employee) –  McBee, SCApril 5, 2018
Very productive place to work at Ive learn alot while working there. I love the shift that i was place on and the salary. i thank them for giving me a chance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valued Employee
Intern (Current Employee) –  Ashland City, TNApril 3, 2018
Great Company to work for. AO Smith values your ideas and you have a lot of input to make your job safer and more efficient. Management are always open for you to ask for help anytime you need it.
Pros
Free dinners for hitting set goal, free turkeys for Thanksgiving, Free ham baskets for Christmans and 2 to 3 percent raises every year.
Cons
No Air Conditioning
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assembly Line Operator (Former Employee) –  Ashland City, TNApril 2, 2018
Hard working conditions but worth it. It's a factory with no central heat or air but that's the game. Plenty of opportunity for advancement and great schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor managment
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TNMarch 28, 2018
The culture and moral in the engineering lab was greatly affected by the poor management team. No one trusted anyone, there was no room for advancement. Project management was handled poorly as well as time management. Overall a very stressful and hostile environment.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Poor management, bad culture, cut throat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't work there for 50 an hour
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Cookeville, TNMarch 26, 2018
Management clueless.100k a yr for group leaders to be stupid at their job. Employee get 9.50-14.00 an hour. I actually hated getting up and going to work. Rules for employees differ from the gods of management.
Pros
Paycheck friday
Cons
Being broke Saturday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work opinion
Controls Technician (Current Employee) –  Ashland City, TNMarch 19, 2018
Work day : Usually have multiple projects going on at the same time.
Learned : PLC knowledge has increased along with the projects.
Management : Values younger talent, less experience. Knowledge of production equipment needs improving.
Hardest Part : Management does not know or fully understands what he/she is looking for, certain parts/code has to be redone. Time lost.
Enjoyable Part : Working with our group and other departments. Figuring out what certain departments want/require.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic Environment
Dev Lead - Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ashland City, TNMarch 12, 2018
There's a lot of Ready-Fire-Aim at AO Smith. Projects are underestimated and we received new requirements well after internal testing had begun. AO Smith also allows for tribal-knowledge-hording, with one of the worst offenders being someone I had to deal with constantly. Even though my architecture recommendations were followed, things got dicey getting other developers to stay on the design and not revert to an anything goes development pattern.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Tank tester/sprayer (Former Employee) –  Ashland City, TNMarch 9, 2018
It was a safe, clean, productive, and fun work environment. The work day was quick, especially on first shift. The prole there are very fun and energetic.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place everyone felt like family
Factory Worker (Former Employee) –  McMinnville, TNMarch 2, 2018
This was a great place to work and most likely if they was still there I would have been there. The best part I liked about the job was learning to use all the various tooling and guages
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report