A. Schulman Employee Reviews

Found 104 reviews matching the search See all 164 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs better structure
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  La Porte, TXJuly 16, 2019
If they had better management the company would be a good place to work for. I think the people are fed up with management and they don't care anymore make it hard on the next man that has to pick up the slack.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mismanagement
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Geneva, OHJuly 12, 2019
Very poorly Managed Facility. The Company was acquired again last year by a good Company, but they havn't got adequate Leadership at this Facility yet.
Pros
Eat good, because of irresponsible spending
Cons
Mismanagement, Site Leader is a joke.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not accept employment here!
Sourcing (Former Employee) –  Fairlawn, OHJuly 7, 2019
I would have rated this a joke and complete waste of time had it been an option. Worst company ever!
Managers sit in thier office and walk around and pretend to be important. The truth is they dont know why they are there or what their job actually is. You can be guaranteed they will first in line criticizing you at every turn.
Pros
Lol Really?
Cons
Having to admit the you work here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a great place.
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  La Porte, TXJune 16, 2019
If there was more room for advancement and more communication between management and employees this would be a great place. There are certain individuals that receive all the work that needs to be done while others skate by. Accomplish goals take to long because of funding or time. Production needs more training and leadership. My maintenance boss encourages the department to move ahead and don't get tied up in the employee negativity, my maintenance lead is very high strung gets mad a lot but willing to learn from his mistakes. The department is changing since LYB purchased the company and if we all could figure out how to help each other out we could have a great team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Organization
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  West Chicago, ILJune 13, 2019
Everyone is hands off. There is little or no direction on what has to be done and production employees seem to have more say than management does. Good benefits though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Works you to death
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Conneaut, OHApril 19, 2019
There is no work/life balance. None. They will work you 12 hours a day for 5 days straight or they work you 10 hour days 7 days straight and every other Sunday off. You're married? Not anymore! Wife will take 50% of your stuff and leave you if you go here! Management has a shift manager on first and part of second shift that is a real piece of work. Do not ask him for anything even if your situation isn't your fault. Ask the floor manager even if it isn't his job. He'll set you in the right direction. Poor payment and the heat is massive. There isn't any airflow in the factory.
Pros
Free gatorade, free popsickles.
Cons
No life! All Work! The 120 degree heat. Poor pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Geneva, OHApril 17, 2019
There were some things i liked about this company but overall it was a bad experience. HR never spelled my name correctly, i never ran a press here although i had 3 years prior experience and knowledge, favoritism and promotions to associates who had their heads up managements tails, and hardhats/long sleeves required. Overtime was scheduled although we didnt have sufficient resources to get the job done some days (out of mix,out of inserts, ect.).
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
No room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good overall working experience
Program Manager/ Applications Engineer (Former Employee) –  Bay City, MIApril 8, 2019
There was a good balance between personal freedom and internal structure. Personal relationships were friendly and non-competitive. Job definitions were clear and unambiguous. The atmosphere was supportive but efficient.
Pros
Good working atmostphere
Cons
Job security was not good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for. I was there for 21 years.
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNApril 5, 2019
Very good company not perfect but very good. You where paid a vey good wage. Training was good and precise. I really enjoyed my time at A.Schulman and was very hurt when they decided to close our plant down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay and good hours
Banbury Operator (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHMarch 31, 2019
A good paying job and management was not afraid to help out when needed. Good day at work and other employees were great to work with. I was the only female to work production in this plant.
Pros
overtime
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAMarch 31, 2019
Interesting place to work. I learnt to work with different people with different backgroung. I learnt to work in a team . The management team was very great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company was a good place to work, however, I only worked there as a temp.
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  East Chicago, INMarch 27, 2019
I have no comments about this company workplace, accept, I had a great supervisor. I only worked at this company temporary and wished I had got hired.
Pros
Supervisor was geed
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are very nice.
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Kingsville, OHMarch 21, 2019
Fast paced and very helpful ,clean and safe invirment they give you hard hats to wear safety boots are required,safety glass are also given.Your also given gloves and ear plugs when needed.The OTC ARE GREAT very helpful ,The nicest people you could ever work for.the The hardest part of the job would be lifting some of the items but if a person needed help with any thing the OTC would find some one , I had to let the job go do to a allergic reaction.
Pros
Two 10 minute brakes paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good old school production shop
Production Line Operator (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAMarch 10, 2019
Working here can be both rewarding and frustrating. Company offers good benefit package from day one and pay is in line with what everyone else seems to be offering. The plant is hot during the summer and dusty always so if you don't care for either of those conditions best to take a pass. Co workers were good people and everyone seems to jive most of the time.
Pros
Benefits from first day, decent management
Cons
Hot, some equipment dated, not much overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers who help out but poor management
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHMarch 9, 2019
Coworkers pitch in if they see you need help. Maintenance personnel were great but there was a high turnover rate in maintenance and production line personnel. Lower management was difficult to work for and displayed a superiority complex. Middle management was good but had to support lower management even if they were abrasive and violated safety rules. Production personnel were fired over safety infractions but lower management wasn't punished for violating OSHA standards.
Pros
Coworkers great and helpful.
Cons
Management drives people out of the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible!
Hidden (Former Employee) –  Geneva, OHFebruary 23, 2019
Little or Poor Training, Then expected to do things. If a mistake is made Watch Out they want to hang you.

Ehs safety out of control, All about ego and not reality.

Management is farming out work because they cant manage what they have.

Not paying bills or vendors.! It affects ordering parts!
Everybody thinks they are the boss!
Scheduling issues!
Lack of organization!
Terrible Communication!
Runs it like a slave shop!
No raises!
They have let numerous employees walk out the door that had valuable experience and don't seem to think they need them.

I couldn't run a business worse then this!
Pros
Hours
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmoshere and accomidations
Plant Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INFebruary 20, 2019
Management bends over backwards to train and maintain a safe working environment. Good hearted coworkers that work together to complete tasks. Very generous paid time off and vacations days from day one.
Pros
people, atmoshere, management, benefits
Cons
at times a dirty environment, turnover rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, awful management
Production Operator (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INFebruary 12, 2019
People who work the floor are outstanding. Managers do not know what they are doing and will not approve over time when needed. Overall great company, just awful management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my experience at A. Schulman
R&D Intern (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 3, 2019
Received excellent training. Wonderful people and work atmosphere. The people there were very kind and always ready to assist. Had a very good experience overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor work place
Finisher/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Geneva, OHJanuary 18, 2019
no parts and having to work 6 or 7 days a week for no reason when there is no parts to work on poorly run factory. no people to run presses. they cant seem to keep people because they work them to many hours no time for family life. they treat you like your nobody just a number.
Pros
good pay
Cons
poorly run factory
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at A. Schulman. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 164 reviews
544
440
346
214
120

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture