AIG Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 2,594 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5778
4893
3637
2157
1129
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,983 reviews matching the search See all 2,592 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heading in the right direction
Sr SP Engineer/Mobile Applications Developer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 21, 2018
* A company in Transition
* Heading in the Right Direction, but not there yet
* They could do a better job of communicating change
* They are doing a great job revamping their learning pathways for employees
* They should do a better job of evaluating the talent they have within before hiring outside talent, there are many loyal people who have been waiting for this transformation and an opportunity to contribute and they are not even considered it is a real shame as the people are the greatest asset AIG has above all else, their heart and concern for the people they service is what makes me want to stay the course day in and day out with the company not the benefits for the technology.
* Rule number one - Take care of the people and the people will take care of you!
Pros
The people
Cons
Communication from leadership is not clear during the transition.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in the Law Department
Paralegal (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 20, 2018
The AIG Law Department was very law firm-like. Long hours and lots of interesting assignments. However, top managers where uninterested and lacked basic management skills.
Pros
Reduced Priced Lunches
Cons
Computer systems not updated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really
Senior Communications Technician (Former Employee) –  NJJuly 19, 2018
you think they would pay me to right this stuff, only if the wanted honest review but they make you do it so you can move on what have we become. nothing else to say
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experiance
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 18, 2018
I had a great experience working at AIG, I loved the culture and the work. Worked with an amazing team. The downside would be instability, the company conducted major cuts to headcount in 2015.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
Job Security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor higher level management
Assistant Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Plantation, FLJuly 17, 2018
Laid off thousands of employees in one week across the country. Executive management was not connected to the workings of each branch office. Poor communication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aig
Director (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 17, 2018
AIG is a complex company. There are several businesses within the Company which will allow room to move around the Company. There is constant change within the company which can sometimes be frustrating. Compensation and benefits are great including a the ability to work from home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and benefits.
Quality Review Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 17, 2018
AIG is a company that allows you post for positions within the company. The company prepares you to succeed with classes that focus on providing great customer service. They also provides management classes and LOMA courses.
Pros
hour lunches
Cons
Needed more diversity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management lost its focus on who made this company great.
Annuity and Mutual Fund Loan Processor/Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXJuly 16, 2018
The management micro manages its employees and plays favoritism. It's a very stressful environment with unjustified monitoring system that doesn't reflect daily work functions and doesn't take it into consideration when grading overall production levels.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aig
WORK COMP ADJUSTER (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 15, 2018
I enjoyed AIG and left to take a chance on a new company with a great offer. I would love to work for AIG again

Laid back enviornment with great coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with
Production Engineering Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 13, 2018
It is a very good place to work. If you show initiatives, you can take up the work and you will get good cooperation.

A good benefit in Medicals and other 401(k) etc

Every 2 to 3 years, we can expect a re-org and we will get a lot of new projects to work with.
Pros
Work From Home - weekly 2 or 3 days.
Cons
compute to CT and NJ
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aig
Unix Administrator Lead - AIG Employee (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 12, 2018
This was a very good place to work. Opportunities for advancement were available. Has options for flexible time and offers medical, dental, vision, etc.
Pros
Flexible Time, Health benefits, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aig
Customer Service Representative II (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 12, 2018
Ok work atmosphere but not good at letting employees know about business changes. . and the north houston office needs some major upgrades, such as new paint and new carpet with new desk area
Pros
close to home
Cons
short breaks and must leave building to get food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to get your foot into a profitable business
Workers Compensation Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 12, 2018
Unfortunately while i worked at AIG the Senior Managers were involved in the Ponzi scheme and I have recently received a $76 check for restitution being a former employee. I hope they have changed their ways.
Pros
stability
Cons
no comment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work-place
Associate Information Office (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 11, 2018
Management skills and wide range of projects such as Financial Planning, Infrastructure Investment etc. It gave me opportunity to work and travel to onsite in UK and Japan.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no longer use agents
Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Jackson, TNJuly 11, 2018
Loved the job , but they walked in to a meeting one day and let all agent go , said they were taking another route. Would have loved to stay with company
Pros
great job
Cons
no longer use agents
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aig
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Stevens Point, WIJuly 11, 2018
AIG is a great place to work for certain reasons. the benefits are great and great incentives but its a lot more stressful than when i first started. I have been there for five years and i have gotten one raise and they start new comers at 14 buck an hour. i make 10.69 an hour and they start people higher.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work in boston and good working culture.
QA Tester (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 10, 2018
Good Place tow work and working culture. Good team and everybody helps each other and work as a team. Managers are also very supportive and helps each others.
Pros
good working culture
Cons
very busy work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Plover, WIJuly 10, 2018
Great team to help you in times of need. Seems daunting when you have to get licensed for each state but it isn’t that difficult. All the answers are there, you just have to read.
Pros
Company back what the representative says, even if they’re wrong.
Cons
The managers are to worried about your personal life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaos
Drafter / CAD Operator and Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJuly 10, 2018
You are hired by an agency.
Chaos is what I can say about this place. Project managers are in another building... Drafting director only cares to not see you... Issues with drawings aren't discussed enough... Supervisors are a joke... and on and on... You're expected to work overtime and Saturdays... and why not Sundays too?... You keep on repeating the same errors because there are so many deciding about it.
You definitely don't have a life here.
Pros
Lake of organization and training about company procedures
Cons
Pay and basic benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Volatile
Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 10, 2018
I went through two reorgs in 6 months. There was no vision when I was there and the politics were intense. I was disappointed in the lack of support of employees and financial waste.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AIG. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

3.8Fairygodboss Score

70%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

75%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss