AARP Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 884 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5472
4221
3130
232
129
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 881 reviews matching the search See all 884 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided opportunity to get back into workforce.
Client Check-in Specialist (Current Employee) –  Sanford, FLJuly 17, 2018
Hope to get regular part time employment from being placed in temporary positions provided me. this service is a helpful tool in getting me back into the workforce at the age of sixty six. the funds i receive helps with making ends meet until regular employment is achieved.
Pros
helping financially until employed.
Cons
not always placed in a benificial position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was very bad.
DESK CLERK (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAJuly 11, 2018
Management was very bad and poorly run. I was treated very bad by management. There was no room for advancement. I didn't get to use any of my skills
Pros
Enjoyed working with my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No recommendation
Employment Training Specialist (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, IAJuly 10, 2018
I would not recommend anyone to work with this organization The participants have been kicked off the program with no real skills to find employment.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and excellent work ethic
Intake Specialist/Case Manager (Former Employee) –  San Angelo, TexasJuly 9, 2018
The hardest part of job was not having an opportunity to make presentations in person due to AARP policy.
I learned how to manage people and an open door policy.
Pros
eligible for food stamps due to being on low income.
Cons
No room for advancement, was promised a raise but CEO reneged, minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Volunteer Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 9, 2018
"Takes care of employees, work life balance" AARP is a place where you will get early exposure to responsibility and a support network to help you thrive. You work with incredibly positive, ambitious, and energetic people who are always there to support you in and out of the workplace. There is a strong culture of mentoring to ensure you have and develop the skills necessary for long-term success in your career.
Pros
Great benefits Package
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits of employment training program
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ft. Myers, FLJuly 9, 2018
AARP has a specific program enabling people of 55 years old and older with training to find employment.the program send the elderly to hose agencies for trainning wich will enable them to work for a living
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colleagues were awesome
QA Test Engineer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 6, 2018
I have learned so much working with AARP such as I had a opportunity to work on android automation from the scratch and it was grat experience and very good skill to have for my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An opportunity to learn
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 5, 2018
It was fun place to learn new skills and develop your growth with confidence.

Classes was offered to gain new skills. The workplace was like a family. Co-workers often assist in finding new ways to help in your success.
Pros
Nice group of people to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get refresher in office atmosphere
Employment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Bunnell, FLJuly 2, 2018
AARP/SCSEP program is NOT a job but a spring board to a job. Their purpose is to prepare you and assist you in returning to the work force. I enjoy working the less than full time hours and the atmosphere is great.
Pros
Only 18-25 hours per week
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the Same AARP
Executive Secretary/ Analyst (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 2, 2018
A lot has changed , job security no longer exists and the pay has gone down, more layoffs and hiring of college interns for short term assignments than keeping quality employees who know the business.
Pros
The people, the benefits the cafeteria
Cons
The re-orgs( lay offs) less opportunities for FTEs (full-time employees) and less pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have learned a lot about tax law, am familiar with the tax filing process and the application of software
Tax Return preparer volunteer (Former Employee) –  Manchester, NHJune 29, 2018
The e-business is a trending. At work, we use the federal tax system to help customers file tax returns instead of paper ones. It is fresh for me. The e-file improves productivity and reduces the risk of failure, except for a few system bugs. I appreciate it. I reviewed the system from 2015 to 2018 and I found that the system has been improving. It is becoming more and more humanized and friendly for our tax preparers. I have to thanks for my supervisor and senior preparers. Because of them, We became a very good team. I appreciate being one of them. During the work, they always do their best to help me, especially on some tricky tax issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for training
Employment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Johnstown, PAJune 26, 2018
Offers great training. Great Management. Good in learning how to qualify low income. Good place to learn what is offered by the state to help those less fortunate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with--patient, willing to help as needed.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLJune 26, 2018
Great to work with. Job duties varied, so I couldn't ever get bored. I felt valued as an employee. I was encouraged to learn as much as possible. The only negative is that we could only work part-time.
Pros
Great hours.
Cons
Only part-time work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone is patient and helpful.
Receptionist/clerical/data entry (Current Employee) –  Redding, CAJune 22, 2018
All of the people I have worked with have been wonderful, patient and helpful. I am enjoying relearning workplace etiquette and new computer programs and all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Service
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 22, 2018
Very happy with the service as an employee. I enjoy helping people. Desire to have excellent customer service skills as I learn and grow with a company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Ware house worker (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJune 21, 2018
A poor agency to work with only concerned about job placement
did not matter if job lead to something use full only concerned if
you got work no
k
Pros
pay check
Cons
lack of respect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLJune 20, 2018
it was okay at time but l like the job l was doing at the place
l was working, it's a four years program. AARP help people
that is 55 and older to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager was very unfair.
Employment Specialist/Admin (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 20, 2018
A typical day was good. Got a chance to meet very interesting clients. Had to scheduled new clients for their 6 month and annual reviews which was quite interesting. The hardest part of the job was getting the reviews typed and presented to the manager on time because it was a fast pace job. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping clients get jobs. Management could have been better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A.A.R.P. is a training, part-time program.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJune 19, 2018
The SCSEP program is a training program for employees 55 and older. None of the employers I worked for had a long-term opportunity for myself, or any other A.A.R.P. candidates. All three locations were short-term jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not applicable
Executive Secretary (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 16, 2018
and updating data and creating statistical reports using the Salesforce database, and identifying and interviewing qualified candidates for our program. I have been providing support to executives since my first professional job at the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office. In that capacity, I prepared reports for senior management, made travel arrangements, planned for meetings and served as the liaison between division leaders and government contractors.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AARP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.9InHerSight Score

3.5Personal Development

4.3Career Opportunities

3.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight