ABB Employee Reviews

Found 1,136 reviews matching the search See all 3,140 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace
Loader (Current Employee) –  Byhalia, MSDecember 13, 2018
Fast pace working place. To many hours a week. But a nice place to be employed at. The employees seem to care for one another. The company often give us appreciation lunch.
Pros
Free lunch break
Cons
Not enough break for 12 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abb
Transportation Customer Service specialist (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 12, 2018
ABB is a great company to work for in regards to benefits and/or advancement through transferring to a different department. As for the Memphis location, you will notice unfair and discriminating practices used. If there is an issue, the management team is not very effective. They use favoritism over good work ethics. The employees are a melting pot of race and nationalities, but like so many other companies, there is discrimination within the departments.

Going to work and doing a great job on a daily basis should be all you have to do to be satisfied, but you will see a lack of confidentiality, discrimination, favoritism, and constant lies. If you bury your head in the sand and not become a part of what is happening around you, ABB is the place for you. Good luck!
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Management does not have your back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Machine Operator/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Kirkwood, MODecember 9, 2018
I got a wealth of new skills while at ABB. As well as new safe ways to do things more efficiently. The pay was exceptional and the healthcare was quite competitive.
Pros
The pay
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swedish Mafia Management
Employee (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCDecember 7, 2018
The management was mostly Swedish (Power Grids). They would bring people over from Sweden on ex-Pat for 2 years costing over $100K each, however, they always had a hard time when it came to merit raises. Also, management loses over $35M on one project and they a rewarded where employees who constantly deliver at a high level are swept to the side. Most US staff are very unhappy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and talented people to work with but the management has no direction for their products.
Senior Software Developer (Current Employee) –  Sugar Land, TXDecember 5, 2018
Fun and talented people to work with, management is reactive and not at all clear with their direction for the product. Director level people keep leaving the departments. And have a bad culture of layoff resources at November thanksgiving holidays.
Pros
Fun and talented resources
Cons
layoff every year at the time of thanksgiving.management has no direction for their products.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuous Improvement Culture
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 4, 2018
Currently the company is going through a lot of change. This creates a stressful environment for individuals who don't deal well with constant change. For those who see change as an opportunity; the sky is the limit regarding personal and professional development.
Pros
Flexible work arrangements, benefits
Cons
Burnout due to constant change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team environment working toward common goals.
SAP Master Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bartlesville, OKDecember 3, 2018
The local business unit has engineering, sales, and manufacturing all under one roof allowing for good communication, collaboration and teamwork. ABB genuinely appreciates their employees, and compensates them accordingly.
Pros
Relaxed atmosphere, good benefits, team environment
Cons
Sometimes corporate objectives interfere with local focus of meeting the customers needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is good but they don't care about there people you are just a number
Tech 2 (Former Employee) –  Crystal Springs, MSDecember 3, 2018
Not a great place to work people are just a number company is all about the bottom line. Back stabbing and blame game they are a very safety minded company.
Pros
Paid lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABB work Culture is pretty poor
Territory Sales Manager NC, SC, VA Robotics (Current Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MINovember 29, 2018
No one gets excited about working for ABB Robotics Auburn Hills, MI
The culture there is keep your head down and do your job as best as you can with little or no help or training. It is a revolving door of people in one position and then gone in 3-6 months. Very poor management at the top of the R&A North America. Hope it changes because they have a great robot but cant get out of their own way to sell it due to management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offers good work life balance
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Sugar Land, TXNovember 28, 2018
Best thing is the work life balance. The company realizes there are things also happening outside of work and as long as the work is completed timely you can also take care of personal items as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Production (Current Employee) –  Athens, TNNovember 28, 2018
Best place to work for sure caring and hardworking people that treat you like family. Great hours and good pay lots of opportunity to grow and build on your career
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced fun hard work
aasembler (Current Employee) –  Mebane, NCNovember 28, 2018
Management has there few favorites regardless if u are hard worker they either like u as a person or not its very highschool mentality company doesn't care about anything but profit
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment. I hate that it’s shutting down
Senior CAD/CAM Programmer and Senior Machinist (Current Employee) –  Southaven, MSNovember 27, 2018
Southaven MS facility is conducting a mass lay-off starting January 18th, 2019

I liked working there. Had every intention of retiring with the company.
Pros
Luncheon every 90 days
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance at all
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Byhalia, MSNovember 26, 2018
Would not work here again. 11 -12 hour days are the norm, Saturdays and Sundays are expected to be acceptable scheduled work days. Constantly changing the areas and not for any seen benefit. Change for the sake of change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Manager (Former Employee) –  Portland, TNNovember 18, 2018
Good people, very stressful work place. Management distant. Good benefits. Out of touch with people. I would not go back to work here. I feel sorry for some people there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
Molder,Assembler,Bagger,Shipper (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMNovember 18, 2018
My problem is trying to move to another shift after applying for many openings having all the requirements and training while other employees are moved without them and new hires are hired every week and don't last. The job requires a lot of lifting and using various tools, the workplace becomes very hot in the summer and cold in the winter.
Pros
All the overtime you want
Cons
! fifteen minute break and half hour lunch that we make up for after every shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work just to many 6 day weeks
Corecoil (Current Employee) –  Jefferson City, MONovember 17, 2018
Place is ok just don’t get enough time off looking for Monday through Fridays,better vacation and sick leave.smaller company would be nice where your more appreciated
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Work to much overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing
Large Line Assembly (Current Employee) –  Bland, VANovember 17, 2018
I was shocked at abb the job I thought I was getting was an assembly line description. Little did I know its not fast paced, just at times. The job is a waiting game, sometimes you have something to do others you don't. I was upset that I left a good job for something like this. I left my prior job because of the pay difference, but money isn't everything, I have learned from this experience, now I have to start all over again and find another job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Compnay
CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNNovember 13, 2018
A company to work for, employees treated one another with respect. Work environment was pretty relaxed and stress free. Hardest part was unexpected overtime hours.
Pros
Work Hours
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
abb
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Hawthorne, NYNovember 13, 2018
i loved abb,
i have to move out os the state and i changed joob, but i had so much fun in this lab, people were super friendly, and my supervisor was great
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ABB. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,141 reviews
51.1K
41.2K
3584
2127
1104

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP20%
In the Top 20% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at ABB.

Powered by Comparably