Abengoa Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 17, 2018
The company has good job culture, management, compensation and benefits. I could balance my job work and life in the same time. Typically I work 8 hours per day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful unsafe unhealthy work environment
Distillation oper. (Former Employee) –  ColwichFebruary 11, 2018
Chemicals in in vessels were a common everyday event.along with environmental hazards and contamination to to surround town water,and run off.safety was not put first ever.very unsafe workers very you workers wore prop Poe.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work schedule. Hard but rewarding work.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  York, NEJanuary 23, 2018
A good place to work. Decent pay. Fast paced. A rapid learning curve was required. A very large number of tasks needed to be learned from using heavy machinery, to ethanol production and laboratory testing.
Pros
Never a dull moment.
Cons
Incredible heat in some production areas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsibilities varied, worked with engineering and construction
Senior Buyer/Procurement Department (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield,MOJanuary 17, 2018
Started at 7:00 a.m. worked until tasks were completed or Project Manager required.

Liked the fact that Projects were normally task force situated, and each Project was budget/schedule driven.

Company was Design/Engineer/Construction. Variety was very nice.
Pros
Responsibility to perform job to support project.
Cons
liked my job and tasks no concerns.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Operator (Former Employee) –  Portales, NMDecember 24, 2017
really enjoyed working there, really great people and safety is first, everyday is something new and enjoyable, everyone helps each other and just a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was slow pace until something broke.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Madison, ILNovember 22, 2017
As said above. Take samples every 2 hours. Maintain work area. Over all the job was easy as long as the place was running right. The benefits were great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place. Good pay.
Logistics (Former Employee) –  Ravenna, NENovember 11, 2017
Good place to work, I would like to get back on there. Close to home, interaction with truck driver's and farmer's, good supervisor and management. New equipment to operate.
Pros
Driving payloader
Cons
12hr days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, just didn't work out
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, ILOctober 1, 2017
Great company, but filed for bankruptcy. The culture within the company was busy, but good. They helped us to be able to have fun and still get the things we needed to have done completed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company wonderful benefits
Office Manager/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 12, 2017
Great Company wonderful benefits coworkers worked as a team to get the job done quickly and correct.
The sad part is that this company went into receivership.
Pros
Great Company wonderful benefits
Cons
This Company went into receivership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Managment, Excellent Coworkers
Operator (Former Employee) –  Gila Bend, AZAugust 23, 2017
The management is terrible and the workplace is dangerous but the people you work with make it worth while. There isn't much of a home life during your work week but you have the option to take all of your days off which help and the pay is better than most places but not as high as other power plants.
Pros
Good Pay, Amazing Coworkers
Cons
Poor Managment, Long Drive, Two Week Day to Two Week Night Rotations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Colwich, KSAugust 23, 2017
Great advancement opportunities with this company. I started out as a operator and was able to move up to management. I enjoyed working with the people there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great shift and good people to work with
Water Treatment Lead (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaAugust 22, 2017
Great shift and good people to work with. The best part of this job is providing electricity to people without pollution. It's a solar plant. So, you are out in the desert.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente
Assistente de Proyecto (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, ArizonaJune 26, 2017
Abengoa proporciona soluciones a problemas serios causados al medio ambiente, debido a la utilización de recursos fósiles, entre otros. Cuenta con una excelente cultura de aprendizaje continuo, coaching y los líderes son excelentes mentores; ponen especial atención al desarrollo integral de su capital humano, incluyendo excelente remuneración y la exposición a una comunidad global, lo cuál encuentro extremadamente atractivo.

Recomiendo a Abengoa ampliamente!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Executive Administrative Assistant to the CEO (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 30, 2017
Abeinsa EPC it's a great place to work, management was great and company culture.
It's a great company to work, you learn every day new things and experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plant Mgr Review
Plant Manager (Former Employee) –  Colwich, KSMay 4, 2017
Bankrupt for a reason. Financial management was not good. European financing does not work well in the US. Requiring your venders to be your financiers was a dismal failure resulting in substantial increase in cost of inputs
Pros
Autonomy
Cons
Distant management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company filed bankruptcy in 2015
Plant Manager (Former Employee) –  Colwich, KSMay 1, 2017
Mismanagement at top levels and failure to follow own guidelines led to cash flow problems that ultimately let to Abengoa to exit/sell off majority of assets. Internal controls were geared to generating slews of documentation with multiple levels of approval that ultimately led to nothing.
Pros
Excellent supervisor, worked with amazing staff
Cons
Corporate level hubris, failure to recognize and correct issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good work environment
EHS Representative (Former Employee) –  ArizonaFebruary 13, 2017
Work for Abengoa was a great experience for me, I learn many things not only on EHS issues also I learn human relations values.

When I started to work in a multicultural company I learn a lot in human relations, and how made my job more valuable and successful for the company, my co-workers and me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leader Fermentation Area
PLANT ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Hugoton, KSJanuary 5, 2017
I enjoin my work in ABENGOA . Plan, do, and accomplish daily tasks.

I loved being a challenging leader for my collaborators, that was the success of meeting the goals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The plant itself had an upbeat atmosphere
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Colwich, KSDecember 10, 2016
In this plant, for the most part everyone got along. Maintenance worked well with production and vis verses. Management was easy to talk to, co-workers helped each other. I enjoyed every minute of my day working with my co-workers. Any questions I had, I felt comfortable asking how to do my job better to benefit the company and employees.
Pros
Hours worked well with my children
Cons
company, higher up, had difficulty managing money. Got laid off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different
Outside Distillation Operator (Former Employee) –  Portales, NMDecember 5, 2016
Catching samples, preparing vats, maintaining waste water system. Providing maintenance in off hours. Overall not a bad place to work but not the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Abengoa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 600 reviews
5220
4204
3114
242
120

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.1

1.2Personal Development

1.5Career Opportunities

3.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight