ABL Management Employee Reviews

Showing all 58 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day @abl mang.
Cook Supervisor (Former Employee) –  sprinfield tn 37172August 29, 2013
ABL was ok for a little while .the mangmt is bad six mangers in one yr and a half .The inmates that I mange was good workers for me. they all had their own area of work to do.I would cook clean help with orders produce take temps .I was always around to do what ever needed to be done . at the end of the day everything is done.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks different mangers different rules
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is no longer in business.
PM Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Newton, NCAugust 26, 2013
I worked at this job over 10 years ago. They are no longer in business.
Pros
good paid
Cons
Worked with in a jail.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nightmare
Accounts Payables Clerk (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 29, 2013
yelling and screaming and stress levels increasing daily.
Pros
i cant think of any
Cons
Owner/President has no respect for employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day filled with students
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 12, 2013
The environment was very family orientated, but at times can get real busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have the greatest manager I like working for her and ABL
Kitchen Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMay 5, 2013
I have nothing but good to say about my managers and ABL. Having to get up at 1:30am is hard my coworkers great we look out for each other. I pull the food for the inmates and make sure they can cook and get the meals ready on time.
Cons
where i live the pay is not that great
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the Worst
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMay 1, 2013
Do NOT buy into their lies.
This is one of the worst companies I ever worked for.
As a District Mgr, they had me on the road over 300 days of the year including Christmas Eve.
I had the best district in the company, always made my numbers and just before bonuses, they "Laid me off" WHY....to avoid paying out a bonus.
Every one I know who worked for the company was cheated.
The smartest guy in the company (Opns Mgr) was let go because he spoke his mind and disputed obvious flaws in their system.
Upper Managements opinion on their managers and employees is very simple.... Fire them and get someone else! Even though they were never trained in the first place.
Just a bad company with bad upper management and ownership.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, supervision, inmates
Food Service Supervisor/ Cook (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, GAFebruary 22, 2013
A typical day working for ABL management can be fun to quite stressful. From supervising inmates to cooking, you really never know how the day will turn out. I've learned several things from working here, not to get too comfortable ti your surroundings, pay attention to details, and a lot more about the proper way of cooking a meal for a big crowd. My manager is great! There really isn't a hard part about this job, unless you are not use to supervising or telling others what to do. I personally enjoy what I do.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleveland County Intention center
Cook Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Shelby, NCDecember 7, 2012
I worked at the Cleveland County Jail. I worked in the kitchen with inmates supervising them on preparing the food.
Pros
the hours was great
Cons
being locked in at all times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABL is the best job i've ever had.
Cook Supervisor (Emanuel County Jail) (Former Employee) –  Swainsboro, GADecember 4, 2012
Once i clocked in i would check menu and call trustees to come to kitchen. Would make a list of everything that needed to be cooked for that meal and all prep for the next two days. Did all my paperwork for that day. made sure all trays, dishroom, kitchen, and coolers were clean.
Pros
good job, nice people, management was really good to employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Lead Kitchen Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCNovember 26, 2012
Continuly working.
A lot about inmates.
Fairly good.
They come and go.
Keeping an eye on everybody and everything.
Conducting meeting and talking with other supervisors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low company morale
Food Service Director (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCOctober 27, 2012
ABL does not care about their people or there clients ; Not a good company to work for at all,
Cons
very low pay for what they expect out of a person
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Job
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Conyers, GAAugust 21, 2012
I go into work and the first thing I do is bake cookies, cornbread and sometimes cake. then I get dinner started. My inmates comes in at this time and I supervisor them own what to do. Such as helping cook or clean the restaurant until dinner is served. Then we all clean up wash dishes and prepare for tomorrow..
Pros
free lunches for employees. vacation pay 1 week after 1 year
Cons
no breaks at all.no benfits, no holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kitchen Manager
ABL Kitchen Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Norfolk City JailAugust 9, 2012
Its about the inmates and making sure they are served. Its like working under pressure all day.
Pros
its a job
Cons
locked in all
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
food service director (Current Employee) –  Marion, NCAugust 5, 2012
Fun filled changing environment. Work with staff and inmates on daily basis. Always alert and having to be on your toes.
Pros
insurance
Cons
co pays
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a.b.l. is a good place to work,but i have to must knowledge in warehouse i need to used my skills.
COOK (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 25, 2012
the most enjoyable part of a.b.l. is feeding the student makeing sure that they are happy that make my day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was interesting
SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNMay 4, 2012
Your days were typically routine. There's not much I learned from the inmates I worked with I already didn't know; it's more common sense. Management could have been alot better.
Pros
enviroment, hours
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contrator absolutely loved working for Client
McDonough, GA 30274 (Former Employee) –  Correctional Food Service DirectorNovember 4, 2011
I was terminated from this company I worked for 7 years, because my client refused to sign a 1 year renewal contract , because we didn't have what they considered adequate staffing.The reason they gave me for my termination was failure to follow company SOP. I was so aware of company policies they sent to me out to cover openings of new business as well as covering for other managers in company when they took vacations and military service. My employee's were trained well enough I could leave them to run other pieces of operation.
Pros
1.good clients .
Cons
1.unappreciative
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ABL Management. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 58 reviews
59
418
312
29
110

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.5Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.7Culture