Academy Mortgage Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Sr Underwriter - DE/CHUMS, VA and Conventional UW (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZApril 18, 2018
Great training and was able to obtain my DE/CHUMS within 60 days of employment. I enjoyed my job and management was always eager to assist when needed.
Pros
Own offices
Cons
Broken promises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place but needs better management
Loan Processor (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COApril 10, 2018
Academy mortgage was a great building block for trying to advance my career in home mortgages. The biggest issue facing the company was some of the people they had in charge. Made it difficult to stay on board.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closer/ Loan Funder
Loan Closer/Funder (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAMarch 30, 2018
Great place to work, they created a job for me, just wish they would have found a way to make it work and I could have continued to work with this great group of people. After 28 years in Mortgage Banking it was time to retire.
Pros
Great Group of People
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for the company
Quality Assurance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Rolling Meadows, ILMarch 15, 2018
I enjoyed working for the company. Great atmosphere. Pay wasn't so great. Well informed about changing procedures or updates. Managers should focus on their managing employees as a whole and not micromanage as well as insure there assisting managers are honest and not play favorites.
Pros
Great Atmosphere
Cons
There is not workplace privacy between employee and managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Producing Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Draper, UTMarch 11, 2018
Academy Mortgage Corporation is a great place to work. They are a local financial company base in Draper, Utah. It is a great place to work and has grown so much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great company with a few problems
Mortgage Loan Officer (Current Employee) –  Layton, UTMarch 7, 2018
Overall Academy is a great company to work for. As a loan officer, I didn't feel I had much support from the management, but I enjoyed those I worked with, and had competitive pay and excellent benefits.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Lack of support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre
SR. CONSTRUCTION LOAN PROCESSOR (Current Employee) –  Fircrest, WAMarch 7, 2018
This is different than a Retail branch of Academy Mortgage. I was in the construction department. I left due to poor management (6 people working in a small office).
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team oriented workplace
SR LOAN UNDERWRITER (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 5, 2018
Academy was a team oriented place to work. Everyone did their part to make sure the loan was moved along to each department in a timely manner. Friendly atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Amazing Place to Work
SOFTWARE DEVELOPER (Former Employee) –  Draper, UTFebruary 23, 2018
Management, culture, work/balance, lack of petty politicking, Academy Mortgage scores high on every point I could think to grade them on. Working there was nothing less than a joy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere with Great People...Loved it there
Loan Officer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAFebruary 16, 2018
A great place to learn and work your way up. I loved the people I worked with. I learned so much during my short time there. It was unfortunate my husband had to get sick or I'd still be there today. Management was very fair and I really enjoyed going to work everyday.
Pros
Everything - Great place to start in the mortgage industry
Cons
Can't think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant employees. Management lacked clear directive. confusing atmosphere of requirements to perform your daily tasks
Sr. Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDFebruary 13, 2018
Culture not conducive to growth. lack of communication if you are working remote. management needs training I have no further review of this company..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good corporate culture, just didn't translate locally
District Processing Manager (Former Employee) –  TexasFebruary 12, 2018
Academy Mortgage has an excellent corporate culture that fosters service to anyone in need. The company provides stellar support to their sales staff. Operations staff - especially those not located at the home office - did not feel valued.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New aspect to my work experience
Loan Partner (Current Employee) –  Folsom, CAFebruary 8, 2018
Academy has broaden my overall Mortgage knowledge from the sales aspect. I now believe i can make the next step in originating loans. I am looking forward to my next adventure.
Pros
work enviroment
Cons
Lack of closing loans
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my Boss
Underwriting Manager (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, COFebruary 1, 2018
My Boss at Academy was amazing. He always made sure I had enough support to do my job and sufficient training. He also checked in with my team time to time and was always accessible
Pros
My team, my boss
Cons
costly benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace and fun people, but they'll drop you without a second thought.
Administrative Assistant - Closing (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, COFebruary 1, 2018
I enjoyed working at Academy. But be wary of corporate. They very much believe that the workforce should be flexible. Hiring new people when volume is high and firing them when things slow down. They only think of employees as cogs in a machine, not as actual people.
Pros
Fairly flexible when it comes to hours.
Cons
Management is only focused on the bottom line.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEST place I have ever worked
Underwriter II (Former Employee) –  Addison, TXJanuary 30, 2018
Lots of Integrity exhibited by upper management. RVP demands that people respect each other at work. Processors are well trained and management takes ownership of every file.
Pros
Stress free environment
Cons
Not much advancement opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not applicable
Processor (Former Employee) –  ArizonaJanuary 24, 2018
difficult job to have ever worked; no management; pushy branch managers; no work/life balance; unfairly pay for work; workplace environment was extremely stressful
Pros
not applicable
Cons
not applicable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are amazing
Business Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Draper, UTJanuary 18, 2018
You'd have an amazing time working here. They are truly about the employees, wanting to make sure you are happy. Hard to advance but wonderful management when you do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Mortgage Loan Processor (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCJanuary 18, 2018
Academy is a good company to work for. Great benefits and
Academy Mortgage is still learning Encompass 360 Academy they have only been on this system one year and half.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
To many stops on Encompass
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, laid back atmoshere
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lake Oswego, ORJanuary 11, 2018
A good place to work and a friendly atmosphere. This is a really laid back place with great benefits, but when the industry slows down, there is not much job security.
Pros
Great atmosphere and benefits.
Cons
Poor job security and low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Academy Mortgage. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 99 reviews
541
423
322
28
15

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.7

2.3Personal Development

2.4Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight