Academy Sports + Outdoors Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 3,384 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5895
41.1K
3855
2302
1243
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 3,362 reviews matching the search See all 3,381 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSApril 24, 2018
Being an retail associate involves a lot of organizing merchandise and making sure you are giving all customers the best service possible. Overall it was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we sell fun
manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 23, 2018
No drug testing
Small company feel
Good vacation, insurance and sick benefits
College reimbursement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TNApril 23, 2018
If you need a part time job this is an awesome place to work. They are very flexible and will work around your schedule. Full time employees had good jobs as well. They had good benefits and were worked with very well too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was alright
Apparel Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Denton, TXApril 21, 2018
I only went there for the money, and the money was not worth the damage it did to my school/work balance, would never go back, even my life depended on it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academy
Hardgoods material hander and Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Katy, TXApril 21, 2018
The warehouse is big and you can get lost if your new to the DC and you get a week of training with someone who already works there and you learn as you
Pros
Never
Cons
Never
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promising But Missing Execution
Systems Analyst -Merchant - Forecasting System (Current Employee) –  Katy, TXApril 20, 2018
There is lack of direction from upper management that confuses everyone on the work that should be done for the involved parties.
Upward mobility is also hard to come by, even if yearly reviews are very good.
The company should be doing more for its employees, because most give more than what is asked with little or no recognition.
Pros
Occasional discounted sport tickets
Cons
Poor upper management, poor morale/culture, lack of accountability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just another retail job
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Humble, TXApril 19, 2018
i worked here for a while helping put together a new store. got to work plenty of hours. when the store was finished we worked about 30 hours a week. they start you out just above minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
on your feet for long hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Benton, ARApril 18, 2018
this job was temporary. it was fun at first but then i started learning more and eventually went all around the store helping customers. it helped my employees out if they were with other customers and made me reliable
Pros
discount
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job its not as bad as dicks sporting good or Walmart
Apparel Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  ARApril 18, 2018
Its a okay job if we had more scheduled employees and had people that showed up to their shifts. Needs to always have two or three people per department. MORE CASHIERS. less people gossiping and playing on their phones. There shouldn't be anyone that can play on their phone the whole shift.
Pros
flexible, employee discount
Cons
lazy coworkers, not excused for illnesses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great College Student Job
Professional Shopper (Former Employee) –  Bossier City, LAApril 18, 2018
The workers become family. There are 5 managers, several team leads. Most of the managers require a 2-3 week notice before making adjustments to your schedule. Lots of walking. An associate will only know things pertaining to their department.
Pros
Fun music. Great products. 20% employee discount
Cons
Speratic shift times. .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temp job
Associate/Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Cartersville, GAApril 17, 2018
management isn't the best and is was very hard to become notice if you weren't a favorite. most workers are in school and only working for a paycheck so they don't care about the work they do in the store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKApril 17, 2018
Academy was always busy that was a typical day at work. I learned that if you made a customer happy it would brighten up my day as well. The management was outstanding very strict but they were fun to work with. The workplace was busy providing customers with additional feedback .The hardest part was during the time we were busy we still had to get customers in and out of the store with great customer service. The enjoyable time at work is laughing with your co workers.
Pros
no comment
Cons
no comment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need better management and need to hire more
unload trucks (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, GAApril 17, 2018
Academy could have been a great job due to the lack of help and unprofessional management I don’t recommend this job. I was unloading like 5 trucks at one time by myself due to the lack of help. I was very sore for weeks and wasn’t able to enjoy off days. Managers need more training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academy as a whole is a good place to work but depends on your managers.
Software Developer (Current Employee) –  Katy, texasApril 16, 2018
At one time used to be allot of coding and analysis and training.
The Retail business is different than Oil and Gas but I was learning something new.
IT Management - No comment.
IT 80-90% of IT department outsourced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Light but sometimes busy
Backroom Team Member (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCApril 16, 2018
Academy is very tight nit but also open, working conditions are good but sometimes over barring because of short staff, but the employees often do their part in the end.
Pros
Constantly moving around
Cons
Short staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible with College
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Texarkana, TXApril 15, 2018
Day consist of mainly helping customers and picking up after customers, learned people skills, management has poor communication with associates and refuses to discipline associates, work can be fast and slow, crazy customers are the worst part, fun co-workers are the best part.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast work enviroment
Apparel Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARApril 14, 2018
its a place with a variety of different sport clothes to choose from and we have to sort them all make sure they are where they need to be and also help the customer with what ever he or she needs
Pros
none
Cons
shorts breaks unable to be hurt on the job or terminated
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competivie
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Diberville, MSApril 13, 2018
very competive against the emploies and trying to out do everyone and sometimes sobatage other co workers work to make it seem they didnt do anything so they can get praise and the others would get in trouble
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academy
Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXApril 13, 2018
Academy is great place to work. They offer flexible hours for those going to college. They offer full time for those needing a career. Academy is great about promoting from within and teaching you to be better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARApril 13, 2018
A typical day at work come in at 5 leave at 3 in the morning based off other departments not finishing there work even if yours was done. We would have to wait until they were finished. And was treated unfairly if you had a right waiting even though you were done.
Pros
good pay
Cons
managers terrible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Academy Sports + Outdoors. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight