ACE Adventure Resort Employee Reviews

Ratings by category
Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work. Also very insecure being seasonal
Raft Guide (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, WVNovember 1, 2018
Living outside and boating with my friends. And hopefully make some money, but not the reason your there exactly. Access to company equipment and gear.
Pros
Free lunxh and rafting
Cons
Must entertain all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
run away as fast as you can
Employee (Former Employee) –  Oak Hill, WVNovember 2, 2017
Horrible place to work. Owners did not care about our department. We were expected to work enormous amounts of hours without being compensated for overtime.
Lack of necessary equipment to do the job properly plus a serious lack of leadership.
Staff was impossible to maintain due to the drug culture that exists at this company.
Pros
get to go rafting
Cons
too many to name
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Day Ever
Liaison (Current Employee) –  Minden, WVDecember 14, 2016
Fun place to work with plenty of outdoor activities to pursue at anytime. Excellent work environment and very interesting coworkers.
Pros
Free adventure activites
Cons
Long hours and complicated operating systems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place invierment
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Oak Hill, WVDecember 2, 2016
great work place an great family atmosphere.

it was a blast working there and I would never change or take it back .

when asked it was great hours and people talk to other then night shift.
Pros
great work staff
Cons
no lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adventurous and Productive workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Minden, WVOctober 5, 2016
There are many wonderful things about my job at ACE. I have met such a variety of people from all parts of the world. I love the staff that works there, they are hardworkers but still find time to have fun. The hardest part of my job is definately the heat, being outside can get very hot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Reservationist (Former Employee) –  Minden, WVAugust 31, 2016
The supervisors were helpful until you were on the phones by yourself, then they acted like it was a problem when you asked for help. It is pretty laid back. The hardest part was probably dealing with rude customers over the phone. The most enjoyable part was the people you work with and getting to go on free trips and such.
Pros
Free Activities
Cons
Supervisors Being Rude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stuck in the past
Guide (Former Employee) –  ActivitiesAugust 10, 2016
Not willing to advance programs. Fun place to work, but needs to update many aspects to create a suitable work environment. Far behind competition. Needs help
Pros
Fun
Cons
Out of touch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a white water raft guide in high pressure scenarios.
White Water Raft Guide (Former Employee) –  Minden, WVAugust 3, 2016
My duties at ACE included informing guests how to paddle and proper safety on the river, guiding guests down the river through class five white water and functioning as a part of a team of guides to ensure the whole group arrived at the bottom of the river safely.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace at times
assistant manager (Former Employee) –  minden, wvAugust 9, 2015
typical day at work was hectic, was rushed to get cleaning done. I learned how to clean correctly, management was okay, she needed to learn more about being considerate about other peoples feelings and needed to concentrate more on her job. My co-workers were mostly fun and nice, but had a few that liked to cause problems and take advantage. The hardest part of the job was managing other employees without the manager there and employees getting out of control. The most enjoyable part of my job was being outside a lot and making a few friends and actually getting the experience of being an assistant manager.
Pros
free ammenities like using there lake and getting discounts on food.
Cons
short breaks, no insurance, low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun outdoor employment
Canopy Tour Trip Leader (Former Employee) –  Minden, WVFebruary 3, 2015
This is a great company to work for if you like the outdoors. I had the opportunity to create great relationships with 50+ guests a day while taking them ziplining and providing excellent customer service. It was also a great teambuilding job to have, I learned to work in harmony with a lot of different people from all walks of life.
Cons
seasonal, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome co-workers
Senior Reservationist (Current Employee) –  Minden, WVSeptember 26, 2014
Great company to work for. Going on my second year. Love it and supervisors are always open for suggestion.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Art Director (Current Employee) –  Oak Hill, WVJuly 15, 2014
Hard work, co-workers are fun loving people, and good fringe benefits.
Pros
Fun Activities
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Maintenance/Construction (Current Employee) –  Oak Hill, WVMarch 9, 2014
i was hired as a food service manager worked with a great team .the days are long and demanding but also fun this company would let me change my position in winter months to doing cabin maintenence wich is the most enjoyable part of my job
Pros
flexability
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Guide (Former Employee) –  Oak Hill, WVFebruary 14, 2014
I learned how to lead outdoor adventures on water and land. The days during the busy season can be long, but rewarding. Enjoyed everyone I worked with because they did their job for the love of adventure not the money.
Pros
Free lunch on river days
Cons
Seasonal work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to be and work
Reservationist (Current Employee) –  Minden, WVOctober 31, 2012
Answered phone calls and made reservations for lodging and adventure activities
Pros
enjoyed all the adventure activities free when off work
Cons
alot of talking on the phone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ACE Adventure Resort. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 16 reviews
58
44
33
20
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
3.8Culture

ACE Adventure Resort Reviews by Location