Ace Hardware Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 3,005 reviews
Ratings breakdown
51.1K
4982
3620
2198
1147
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 2,730 reviews matching the search See all 3,003 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast-paced, enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIApril 26, 2018
Great support from management, great education and opportunities, to learn technical trades and sales skills. The private ownership of the company gave it a family setting.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
No comment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Warehouse Specialist (Current Employee) –  Princeton, ILApril 25, 2018
Plenty of opportunities to advance within the company.

Ace believes in investing in their infrastructure and their employees. They value on going education and offer plenty of training.

Ace's mission statement is clearly understood.

Management is approachable.

Employees participate in their own self assessments and take an active role in participating in their reviews.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice yet challenging and busy place to work.
Picture Framer (Former Employee) –  Great Falls, MTApril 25, 2018
It was a nice comfortable and relaxed atmosphere, yet a challenging to attend to customer service needs and building projects in framing and restoring art work along with side project of repairing and restoring of store merchandise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy going
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Clare, MI 48617April 23, 2018
ace is a fun and easy going place to work. you got to meet new people daily and learn new things daily. you also got to know your customer that came in daily and you start to build a relationship with them.
Pros
Fun, Easy going, get employees
Cons
no brakes besides for 30 min lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILApril 23, 2018
I really enjoy working at Ace Hardware Corporation. Great culture, great people, great work life balance. The benefits are also very good and company is doing very well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first time job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Nipomo, CAApril 22, 2018
Depending on the department you work in, it can either be easy or very difficult , Also be careful easy to strain yourself lifting heavy objects or moving around heavy loads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a easy workplace with friendly faces
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 22, 2018
- Friendly associates
- Easy learning
- Learned about hardware and business management
- Given opportunities
- Different managers to discuss with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees worked well together
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pacifica, CAApril 22, 2018
There never seemed to be any big problems between employees at this job. We were all very good at working on a team, and every problem that ever came up was able to eventually be compromised.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, MTApril 22, 2018
Okay place to work. Everyone is very friendly and funny. Some people don't follow the rules at work like no food at the front. But they still do. Other than that its okay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAApril 20, 2018
It most certainly really was just the most absolutely okay. I did not really necessarily like driving from my home to this stand-alone building to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good place
Cashier/Yard Assist (Former Employee) –  Deer Park, WAApril 20, 2018
certain employees would close down a check out lane or the paint counter and play games on the computers instead of working, the owner screamed at me within the first 15 minutes of my first day in front of 10-12 customers, overall it is just not a job that i recommend for anybody.
Pros
45 min lunch, 20% discount
Cons
cruddy employees and not a good work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Dothan, ALApril 20, 2018
This is a good place. Ace is the place. I would recommend this place to anybody looking for a job. This is a job that will teach you a lot about tools and hardware.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Office Administration Coordinator (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 19, 2018
the location is very fast pace. everybody works as a team to get the job done. most locations you have the ability to move up in position. make sure you are clear about that at the interview
Pros
great vacation time
Cons
30 minute breaks!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work at
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHApril 19, 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job is having a good management knowing that the store is run by the right person. i've learned that a store can run a lot better with a good manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Manager/Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Williamston, SCApril 19, 2018
One would assist customers on satisfying there needs. one would also stock shelf's and make sure everything is neat and in orderly fashion. It is a slowed paced and can meet customers on a personal level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring and easy
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mukwonago, WIApril 18, 2018
it was okay I guess it was just the most boring, mind-dulling job i've ever had. I was aiming for less stressful and I over-shot it when I decided to work here. Their register system is outrageous and the owners were huge B-words.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  La Crosse, WIApril 17, 2018
Management is the worst I've ever seen. They do offer incentive but is very hard to get. Don't expect help from management to improve. Very high turnover rate. Plan to work 60+ hrs a week as a forklift driver.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and very friendly envioronment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCApril 17, 2018
my job description included making copies and fax. answering the six line phones and tranffering calls. cashier distribute of funds and entering sku numbers. making store signs for the store while on cashier including laminating and cutting them.
Pros
free lunch on weekends
Cons
no benefits, no breaks, no overtime, no perfomence apprasials or option to move up positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All good unless the manager got a wild hair loose
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kingman, AZApril 16, 2018
Everything was great except the manager was very quick to anger and quite unreasonable when he did. I lost my job because of one of his fits. Other than that it was a very pleasant place to work and the employee discount is excellent. On the service they seem to really care about their employees but in reality, not so much
Pros
full time with benefits
Cons
Manager with a hot temper
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment and fun plave to learn new thinhs and skills.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Othello, WAApril 16, 2018
Great place to learn new skills , many different skills . It's a really good place to develop and use your sets of skills and gather more through your customers as well as your co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ace Hardware. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

2.3Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight