ACHIEVA Employee Reviews

Showing all 49 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management concerned with getting their guaranteed raise while staff does without
Middle level management (Former Employee) –  South side office.May 1, 2019
The “president “ and”Vice President “ of the department I worked for routinely lied. Showed favoritism. Demanded department loyalty and expected very much from all employees. Would not answer questions. Raises were few and far between but they received contractual raises and bonuses.
Pros
The clients
Cons
Evasive management, negative atmosphere. Poor morale.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long boring days little training little management
Community Inclusion Specialist (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 19, 2019
Benefits are good but that is all. Management poor, never any overtime, current method of managing clients schedules is hectic and not thought through.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Coach
Employment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 16, 2019
Job Coaching here was a rewarding experience. I was able to make my own schedule based on client needs and my life needs. Team work made the job easier and we had others with whom we could contact or consult for questions or ideas.
Pros
Flexible scheduling
Cons
not typical office hours, non-profit = lower pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Community Living Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 18, 2019
A typical work day can vary depending on the schedule of your staff and residents that you support. You have to be good at adapting and accepting change at any given moment. Working with the other supervisors and your own supervisor you have a great support system. You can also educate yourself with new training provided. The hardest part about the job is learning to balance work life and social life. You always have to be flexible because anything can change in a matter of seconds. I would say that the most enjoyable part about the job is the connection you have with the residents and how they make a difference in your life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Achieva is a great place to work
Community inclusion professional (Current Employee) –  West Mifflin, PAFebruary 6, 2019
Schedule can change frequently and usually take groups of people into community to participate in activities they are interested in. Help with lunch and daily living skills
Pros
Done at 3:30
Cons
Some behaviors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a nice place to work.
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PA 15203January 30, 2019
I enjoy my job. The people are all like family. It is a company that really makes a difference in people's lives. The job keeps me interested and learning new things.
Pros
vacation, sick and personal time
Cons
the pay is not enough for a single person to afford to live today.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Community Inclusion Specialist (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PA 15601October 16, 2018
working at Achieva is very rewarding on a daily basis. There have been many changes in the last 4 years that i have worked at Achieva. I feel that some of these changes are not fair for some of the individuals that i work with on a daily basis. There are not the same opportunities for the people who are more disabled as there are for some of the individuals that can actually go out into the public. These individuals do not have a choice and are not heard!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressfull department to work for
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAOctober 12, 2018
I worked in the Home Care Department. I helped the homecare staff with their administrative needs. I answered phones and completed new hire packets for Home Care Aides who were being hired to go into clients homes to provide care. The homecare staff were very demanding in having things done quickly and very critical of tedious things.
Pros
Good Pay Rate
Cons
Home Care staff to demanding and coming across defensively
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of communication and respect for workers.
Advisor (Current Employee) –  PGH, PAOctober 9, 2018
They have lack of communication when they need someone to do something. I learned that you have to talk to people about everything in order to allow messages to get across whether its to client , staff , or someone high up.The best part about this job is the smiles the client gives you once you've done or said something nice for them.
The hardest part is no understanding and lack of communication.
Pros
the clients
Cons
the pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production manager
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 21, 2018
great place to work. very friendly upper management that actually care about you and your family. had to load/unload trucks in all weather, and employees are very lovable.
Pros
fun place to work
Cons
being in all types of weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work at.
Vocational Mentor, Floor Supervisor, Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 14, 2018
the staff would have a 30 minute meeting, and then we staff would get a sheet that in tells who we were to work with, and then we would grab our crew and work on some things that they are week at in their daily lives.
Pros
just helping those who need help.
Cons
every now and then, I would get hit by a consumer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what they make it seem
Community Homes Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Greensburg, PAJune 28, 2018
This position was to be supervisory however it wasn’t explained that you’re basically on call 24/7 and are doing regular staff work. Management lied during interviews and says everything you want to hear until you’re hired. After that, you’re basically on your own. People who are supposed to meet and train you don’t show up and don’t even call to let you know. It’s a shame that the individuals with disabilities are the ones who have to suffer
Cons
Management lies and picks favorites, job duties are nothing like explained in the job description
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMay 15, 2018
I am a current employee. I have been at the company for several years. It is a great place to work if you have children and need flexibility. Would recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization, great mission, some poor upper management
Director RAMS Mailing Service (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 15, 2018
The organization was really dedicated to the individuals that they served and the families whom they supported. They offered innovative programs and were strong advocates for people with disabilities.
Pros
Top notch organization
Cons
Too much discord among upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great company
Support staff (Current Employee) –  Greensburg, PAMarch 28, 2018
Achieva is a great company to work for, there are many different ways they support people with disabilities and you are given every opportunity to advance within the company. Working in a residential setting at any company comes with the same feeling of being a direct support professional and not always feeling supported by management, this happens everywhere. Your experience will be what you make out of it, you are able to advance by networking, or you can work on the weekend and rarely go into the office so that you can be as anonymous as possible, if that's what you choose. The benefits are absolutely fantastic, lots of paid time off, sick time accrues up to 300+ hours and the benefits package is fantastic and they pick up the vast majority of cost.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weekend Coordinator, Under paid/Overworked block shift
Weekend Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 13, 2018
Achieva is not and does not have competitive pay...under paid. No extra compensation for working weekends of Fri 4hrs, 16hrs on Sat and 18hrs on Sundays. Give up your weekends in Pittsburgh because you can't leave the job site at all even after you punch out. Have to sleep at site without pay...they say its great for family oriented or college student. But that not the case. Worked over 5yrs without a raise. If you want to totally give up your weekends and sacrifice seeing your friends and loved ones every weekend this is the job for you. Under Paid/Over Worked/Noncompetitive Pay= Achieva Weekend Coordinator
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Habilitation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 21, 2018
A good place to work. Loved the clients, and instructing them on
ADL's. Very productive place to work. Achieva cares about their clients. They have many activities and get togethers for them. They also have work shops.
Pros
24 hour support.
Cons
Not enough hours in my community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment not in touch
Manager (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 23, 2018
Bad Management all about the money and pulling down more government funding. Company has changed with new management
that hide behind the faces of people with special needs but only are concerned with money. Posted success stories are false or recycled
through the same ten individuals. Really is a shame was a company you could be proud of.
Pros
Mission is very positive
Cons
Mission is only for public relations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice,quiet atmosphere.
Family Community Worker (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 22, 2017
Very knowledgeable supervisors who love their job. They have a willingness to help you feel like you can be successful while working there. Supervisors try to accommodate you if emergencies occur.( ie...family,health,etc.)
Pros
Flexible schedule to meet consumer needs.
Cons
Low pay rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for if Supervisor and Specialist actually chime in.
Residential Advisor (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PA 15203August 25, 2017
The work environment was okay for the most part. The supervisors and specialist could have payed more attention to the concerns and issues the staff have in residential. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the veteran staff; they were set in their ways; and if they did not care for you they made it very known.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
gave a hard time approving vacations when you made a request.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ACHIEVA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 49 reviews
518
410
312
25
14

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture