ADK Electric
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

ADK Electric Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.7Work-Life Balance

Search reviews

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Showing all 21 reviews

ADK Electric insights

Based on 20 survey responses
What people like
  • Fair pay for job
  • Clear sense of purpose
  • Ability to learn new things
Areas for improvement
  • Trust in colleagues
  • Sense of belonging
  • Energizing work tasks
Is this information useful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

The people

Featured review

ADK Electric selected this as a representative review
I was fortunate enough to work primarily under only two Foreman and one Project Manager. They helped teach me the trade and took care of anything I needed regarding personal or professional situations.

Pros

Great Christmas party

Cons

You get moved around a lot
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

March 10, 2021
Dear Former Electrical Apprentice,Thank you for taking the time to write your positive experience with ADK Electric! It is my hopes that you come back to the Team!Tina
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Massive over time poor culture

The work and projects were fun, but during the summer they do school district work with unrealistic hours. It’s very much who you know not what you know to move up. Getting materials isn’t an issue but the quality of their field guys to install it is questionable based on project to project.

Pros

Lots of OT

Cons

Poor culture
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

July 9, 2021
Dear Former Electrician,There are times when we have OT when projects run behind as there are many different contractors on the same project. Overtime on projects is not mandatory. Regarding moving up through the Company: that is all up to you! ADK puts all apprentices through school and everyone is given the same opportunities to succeed. The quality of our electricians is very good otherwise we would not get repeat business and so many additional projects from the GC's. I also noticed above that you put down as a "Pro" for ADK is "Lots of OT"?Tina
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Productive workplace, overall enjoyable

Very good place for a beginner electrician to learn the ways and code of electrical work. You will get to do all sorts of things so you get to learn a lot about a lot of different things.

Pros

Good work place

Cons

Pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

August 17, 2020
Dear Former Apprentice,Thank you for taking the time to post positive comments on Indeed! ADK Electric is a great company to work for with a highly skilled Team of Electricians and Office Staff! Tina
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Don’t work for ADK.

The management will steal money from you. The “journeyman” don’t care about work ethic. And then they will bad mouth you to other employers and ruin your career.

Pros

Pay is high for Colorado but Colorado has unfair wages.

Cons

Everything else
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

May 6, 2020
Dear 3rd year apprentice, Clock-ins and clock-outs are done by you through the foreman's phone on the Exaktime app. ADK cannot steal time from you as your time is calculated automatically. If you were missing hours it was through a missed clock-in or faulty clock-in. If this ever happens you call the office and the time is corrected immediately. ADK Electric takes pride in our projects and and our Teams. If there are any complaints brought to our attention we deal with issues head on. ADK hires the best electricians with the knowledge, skills, abilities and that passion to be the best! Our reputation proves that!Please feel free to call me with any questions or concerns.Tina Laurila, Phr303-781-7400
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Poor Company

Although there are some great employees that work for ADK Electric Corp. This is not a good company to work for. Very disorganized. Poor leadership and disorganization from one of the owners makes it difficult for the rest of the team to suceed. Don't waste your time. There are much better places to work for and be happy
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

July 1, 2020
Dear Former Employee, Thank you for your input - we were very sad to lose you. Misunderstandings happen and it is our desire communicate differences but sometimes it is better to part ways.Tina

Job seekers rely on your experience.

Every work experience is unique. Let people know your thoughts on previous employers.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Best company

This is a family atmosphere. The best electricians are raised here. I left for more money and I’m working with idiots now. I still consider ADK home and it’s clearer to me everyday that they’re second to none as far as grooming well rounded electrician goes. They do need to pay more competitively and give raises to loyal employees before paying new and unproven ones top dollar.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

June 30, 2020
Dear Former Employee,Thank you for your feedback. Let us know if you ever want to return! Call me at 303-781-7400.Tina

Official response from ADK Electric

February 5, 2020
Dear Former ADK Electric Team Member,Thank you for taking the time to provide great feedback. Give me a call EM and we can talk about rejoining ADK Electric! We miss you!Tina
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Great place to work family enviornment

I enjoyed my time there I move on to experience different aspects of the electrical field. But still stay on contact with them. They will help you in a bujd and hold everyone to the same standard
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

December 23, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience with ADK Electric! Let me know if you would like to come back as we are always busy and looking for the best Electricians. :) Tina
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

The best place I've ever worked

ADK Electric gave me the training, skills, and ability to begin my life as a professional. They took care of me at all times, and I have watched the company continue to improve, with the focus on the employee's well being!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

December 23, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experiences with ADK Electric. We appreciate all of you and wish you a Happy and Healthy 2020!Tina
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

None

With a large array of work in the commercial field ADK will teach you a how to apply your electrical knowledge to everything from ground-up to tenet finish.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

June 30, 2020
Thank you for your positive feed back! Please call me if you would like to return for ADK provides you with 4 years of schooling to get your Journeyman Electrician license! Why only 2 stars!! :)Tina - 303-781-7400
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Awesome company.

This company deserves 5 stars.. They are willing to put their employees through school for free! They pay the bill and will give you all the necessary tools to start the job. I cant believe how good this company treated me. AWESOME COMPANY!!!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

June 30, 2020
Dear Former Employee,Thank you for the positive feedback and the 5 star rating. ADK is a great company to work for and the owners really care for their staff and electricians. Let me know if you would like to come back.Tina
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

build big projects

great electrical company to work for. good work environment. They do a bunch of large commercial projects. When I drive by them to this day, I am still proud of what I helped build.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

April 27, 2020
ADK takes such pride and loyalty in our Electricians and Office Staff and that speaks by the tenure of our Team!Thanks very much for great feedback!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Great place to work!

You work with the best electricians around. The foreman keeps us working with no layoff time. We put out an excellent product.Excellent place to work
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

June 30, 2020
Dear Current Employee,We are so happy to have you on board - whoever you are! Thank you for the positive feedback. I agree, this is an excellent place to work!Tina
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Great place to work! Rated #5 in Colorado!

I love working for ADK! I have worked for other companies but when I found ADK, I knew it was perfect! ADK is not to large but it is large in its commercial construction projects and innovative thinking! ADK is family-owned and operated for over 20 years. They firmly support the development of the Apprentice Electricians to Journeyman License through employer paid training programs. They have earned a prestigious reputation in the industry for being an award winning and well-respected electrical contractor in Colorado! ADK received the White Level AGC/OSHA Chase Program and Platinum Level with ABC. ADK does all their work on-site, meaning no pre-fab work is done. ADK has an excellent benefits package Medical, Dental, Vision, 401K, PTO, paid holidays, bonus' and competitive compensation to match your skills. I believe that ADK truly values their employees – they provide continuous safety training so that “Everyone Goes Home at Night”. ADK have a passion and commitment to excellence both in their employees and the projects that they construct.I cannot say enough about the owners and the opportunities they have provided for their employees throughout the years.

Pros

Year-end bonus', safety bonus', paid IEC training, Pto, Health, Dental, Vision, 401K

Cons

The almost 40 steps I have to take when I need to visit the home office???
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

June 30, 2020
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to reach out and tell ADK what a great company they are!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Paid schooling

They Paid for 4 years at IEC school. As long as you pass school, they pay 100% of tuition and books. They also have the incentive of a raise for every semester you pass.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

June 30, 2020
Thank you Current Employee! Yes, ADK pays for schooling with a raise after every semester that you pass! We appreciate your feedback and wish you continued success with ADK Electric. Tina
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Too many kids

there wasn't organized the management needs to be looked through a little bit for like to lead men at the job site it was like I'm goi g too recess a great School we were doing things on safe and I just wasn't a safe environment to work

Pros

Friends

Cons

Joke at times
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

June 30, 2020
Dear Former Employee,ADK recruits for that passion to be the best and the drive to be a success. Safety is #1. We recently had over 820 days without one recordable incident with OSHA. Our Safety Director is on the spot when it comes to safety.I appreciate you bringing your thoughts and would love to hear from you if you would like to talk further.Tina 303-781-7400
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Unreasonable General Management

Poor planning for staffing requirements. The company was notorious for hiring extra employees when business increased, but also for laying off the extra, more recently hired employees when business slowed.

Cons

Poor planning for staffing requirements.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from ADK Electric

March 10, 2021
Dear Former Administrative Assistant,I want to thank you for your concerns. In February 2018 ADK hired a full-time recruiter who communicates with the Project Manager Team daily regarding hiring. Prior to COVID our last lay off was in 2010 so I do not understand why you stated that we have many lay offs?Thank you,Tina
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Successfully learning how to install electrical equipment

We did a lot more residential work then industrial so we were installing a lot of outlets, light fixtures, a/c units, and main power boxes. I learned a lot about electrical coding, and all the dangers that come with it.

Pros

learned a lot of electrical skills that I can use at home to fix my own issues if needed.

Cons

working in bad weather
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Good job to gain skills

Working at ADK was fun and a great job for someone looking to gain expirence and knowladge in the electrical trade. they are offering to send you to trade school and pay for it entirely
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Don't plan on growing there

Very set in their ways..management does not value the 'little people' at all! No matter how hard you work they find a reason to not pay you more or allow you to grow.
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

good people

Great Company Good People. Commercial and residential work Growth Available. Bosses are very helpful and work is steady. Very respectable place to work
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Worst job ever

Arrive at the job site and receive orders. I learned how to do electrical work.

Pros

Was able to take time off when needed

Cons

The owner was terrible
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ADK Electric. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3

Based on 21 reviews
5
7
4
3
3
4
2
4
1
3

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture
  • Companies
  • ADK Electric
  • Employee Reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?