Advance America Employee Reviews

3.3
Overall rating
Based on 1,160 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5266
4300
3310
2134
1150
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,157 reviews matching the search See all 1,160 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hand picked for the position
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 18, 2018
I looked good on paper that's the only thing that got me hired. The people there have a specific type of person picked out that they want to hire. Laid back work atmosphere though.
Pros
Laid back work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress workplace. Customers were great.
Center Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSJuly 18, 2018
I loved my job and job duties. My customers were incredible. The management was incredibly immature and they had poor communication skills. They pushed and demanded more than they were ever willing to compensate for.
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
Short breaks. Drama. Not enough employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Orange, TXJuly 17, 2018
This was a very stressful job due to the high turn over. We always worked short handed with a heavy work load. I did enjoy the customers and being able to help them.
Pros
Plenty of hours
Cons
Worked Saturdays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best jobs I ever had
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 16, 2018
This position gave me a lot of responsibility and trust. Every opportunity for growth support and flexibility. Working for Advance America was a blessing.
Pros
Flexibility, growth, oppertunity
Cons
days past so quickly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJuly 13, 2018
Stressful collections practices that require journeying to someone's home on a "field call" which is very dangerous in this day and age. The pressure to rope in the working class is unbearable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Dapne, AlabamaJuly 12, 2018
A typical day from open to close was a very busy day. Assisted customers with payday loans, pre paid Visa debit cards, we offered Money Gran Assistance as well.
Pros
Flexiable hours
Cons
Insurance benefits was not very good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm being Your Own Boss running your own store
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Negaunee, MI 49866July 12, 2018
With the top Marketing in the corporate area the division and the best credit for customer payments in the division I was the number one store for Advance America per the CEO without any hired employees at that time of opening. Started or brochure sales company working together in the community with free advertisements or free coupons for different company gain. Working with customers with a Stern outlook on agreement sales and collections.
Pros
Being My Own Boss
Cons
Company not hiring employees to help with the company business at open
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Assistant Manger (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJuly 11, 2018
i did alot of loans made collection calls it was a good job when i first started there but after some laws changed things went down hill and i knew it was time to move on
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy company
Manager (Former Employee) –  South Bend, INJuly 9, 2018
This is a very busy company. It is a long work day. Management not always available. This is a diverse environment. Too many hours per day. Meeting new people was a plus.
Pros
consistent chedule
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Opelika, ALJuly 9, 2018
The company is great to work for. I had a terrible DDO so it made for a very harsh work environment. The DDO was rude to me on multiple occasions & never believed what I said. My CSM was stealing from the company and blamed it on me
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy going to work everyday
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 8, 2018
Love going to work, I learn something new everyday, working as a team, where we encourage each other, to build not individually but as a united team.

Meet new people everyday, build partnerships.

Enjoy the people I work with, this is one of the best places to work for.
Pros
Family oriented, employee well being
Cons
Income if your a one income household.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance America is a great place to work
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Metairie, LAJuly 7, 2018
Advance America is a great place to work. I would advise anyone to apply there. There’s advancement, great bonuses , insurance is good also. It was the best job I have had.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company helps some people that would never get help anywhere else.
Divisional Director (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJuly 5, 2018
Great place for work-life balance. Off on federal holidays. Management varies. Some are fantastic while others micro-manage every step you take. Most of the employees at the center level are very concerned about Eight weekes to start and always something to complete each month.
Pros
Work-Life Balance
Cons
Some Mid-Level and higher managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked alone most of the time
Assisted Manager (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCJuly 5, 2018
Risky environment dealt with cash at all times, making it a target to be rob anytime Manager great to work with as well as working with the customers.
Pros
worked with a great manager
Cons
stand long periods of time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only if you have no other option
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Franklin, VAJuly 5, 2018
I worked here for almost a year and it started out ok. The schedule is not bad but management makes the job harder than what it really is. I had death in my family (grandfather) and I was still required to work.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of feedback from upper management
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Martinsville, INJune 28, 2018
I really enjoyed working there, the only thing that was upsetting is that there was not a lot of feedback from upper management. The company permanently closed the location that I was managing. I enjoyed my customers to the fullest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor company to work for
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Mississippi State, MSJune 28, 2018
This is a place where management expects you to treat people under you like children then they side with them. If someone is sick or you have a close death they expect you to check in with them everyday. They don’t offer any sympathy and their always changing rules then wanna write you up. If you have a family your close to this isn’t the place to work.
Pros
Vacation
Cons
Pay not worth the hassle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance America
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 26, 2018
I worked full time at Advance America as an Assistant manager. I was responsible for shift management, audits, daily collections and underwriting for payday loans. The hardest part of the job was collecting on past due loans. What I enjoyed most about it was being able to help people financially in their time of need.
Pros
flexibility, work life balance
Cons
carrying cash at night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cordova, CAJune 25, 2018
When I started working at Advance America I enjoyed it. But it is very poorly managed by upper district management. They will move your store location with out permission or proper notice
Pros
none
Cons
Horrible upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
Divisional Director of Operations (Former Employee) –  Hampton Roads, Peninusla,Eastern Shore of Va.June 25, 2018
Responsible for the direction of 12 centers in the Eastern Part of Virginia, Including and not limited to, Coaching and Developing managers and managing performances and expenses for the division. As a Divisional Director of Operations I was the integral field leadership that provided the vision and passion to grow the business.
Other Areas of responsibility:
• Responsible for running 12 centers, supervised a staff consisting of an Area Manager and Division Training Manager and 35 employees. Visited centers to drive sales by coaching and train team members.
• Recruited and observed training for new hires (Hire, Train, Motivate)
• Developed and assessed employee talent and employee performance and managed employee turnover.
• Fostered a team environment and built strong working relationships.
• Managed Profit and Loss Statements.
• Resolved Customer Complaints reported to corporate office.
• Ensured security procedures and policies were followed as well as performed monthly audits of centers.
• Maintained working relationships with the division and home office.
• Audited Money Gram Transactions
The Hardest Part of the Job was Marketing for new products at store level. The most enjoyable part was dealing with my team members and motivating them to succedd
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Advance America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

1.0Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss