Advance America Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 1,114 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5254
4293
3300
2126
1141
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,110 reviews matching the search See all 1,113 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEFebruary 27, 2018
loved working there. no room for advancement. family environment. about 80 calls a day. Management was great and benefits are ok. PTO was outstanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Csr
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  South Hill, VAFebruary 26, 2018
Here I worked in a high volume office and approved payday loans and denied them as well. We had to manage large sums of cash daily balance the safe make deposits etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very strassfull
Center Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Stephenville, TXFebruary 20, 2018
they push you to upsell products.
force loans on people like they do not have a choice.
get in trouble for not bringing in new loans and get in trouble if you do not offer more products
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Assistant Manger (Former Employee) –  Hopkinsville, KYFebruary 20, 2018
I was assist store manager and trustee to the district, I would go in audit stores in the area, very few people were chosen to do this in the company,
Pros
Descent pay
Cons
The store closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Unprofessional
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IAFebruary 18, 2018
This company felt like I was a loan shark, management was very unprofessional, to much drama I liked the drive distance, the pay was poor and the benefits were costly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance America
DIVISONAL DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS (Current Employee) –  Sacramento County, CAFebruary 15, 2018
There is a lot of Gossip that goes around. You do not get your 10 min breaks, You work alone in centers. If you want to take your available vacation time it is a huge hassle due to the understaffing of the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice business
Contract Center Agent (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCFebruary 15, 2018
Excellent place to work. Would love to go back and work for the company. Great staff very hands on with employees. room for improvement and to grow within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs more organization
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 14, 2018
After working here for a year I received my first bonus. That was great the new DAC is horrible it created bad debt in my center and me being the manager took the slack. I grew my center in a year and now I'm being audited for making the process of getting a loan too easy. I was constantly micro managed. You cannot make your store your own. Its a stressful job. They ask for a lot for little pay. Collect bad debt, call 200+ people everyday. The same people. Who curse you out and hang up in your face. Don't turn down people but don't approve too many either. Use these forms but don't use them too often. It's very confusing and not the career I thought I wanted. I have seen them let go a 15year DM with no second thoughts. If they can do that to a tenured employee then I'm no one. Turn over is high and they don't care about the employees. Also as managers we have to make our schedule for an entire month, so no planning no nothing.
Pros
Bonus, customers, my crew
Cons
Collection calls repeatedly, low pay, manual work, don't trust their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring -lots of Sales Goals
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAFebruary 12, 2018
Typical day of work was helping the customers as the come in with MoneyGram Orders, Payday Loans, and Title Loans. When you weren't helping a customer, you had a list of over 150+ people to call to remind them of upcoming payment dates, if they had insufficient funds, or if they were on the collections list. This job is seriously repetitive and gets boring really quick. One thing I hated was having to go out to local companies to try to create "Business Partnerships" which we never did anything once we created those "partnerships" so it was frustrating to me to do what I saw as pointless busy work.
Pros
Customer service skills, Collection Call experience
Cons
Pointless Busy work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAFebruary 11, 2018
not good company changes
not good management skills
changes in policys once a week
no consistency
worked more snd piad less for it
would suggest more firm rules nd ritual balance in procedures
Pros
good team members
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCFebruary 9, 2018
Relatively low drama. Employees are friendly and help each other when needed. CEO and CFO are personable and easy to talk to. Very little if any overtime. Good benefits, competitive pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad moral
Accounts Payable Lead (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCFebruary 9, 2018
The accounting department has bad moral. Hourly and salary employees are not treated with the same respect or equal opportunities. The manager discussed and talks about his employees opening.
Pros
Jean Fridays
Cons
Unequality
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eh
Center Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Abilene, TXFebruary 8, 2018
my only problem was lack of training... After I was offered the job I was sent to training at a different store, instead of going to CTC school to learn basics. I was at the " training store' for about 6 weeks. After that management that came to my store didn't really care, mostly just filling in till we can get someone to replace the DM that was let go a week after I got the job. so 5-6 months went buy with no help of guidance to help sharpen my skills. After that we got a new DM awesome guy, but still never saw him, mostly contact was made via email, or on the phone. After he finally started and got trained he came buy a few times and wanted to send me to CTC for training for 6 more weeks. CTC only teaches you the basics on how to open the store and how to close the store along with what you can and cant do. when i returned to my store i still had nothing more than what i already had to start with, but now i was further behind due to no one was covering my store and My 2 people at my store worked open to close most of the time I was out, and didn't get anything done due to their lack of training... I got wore out, tired and very discouraged with the company as a whole.
Pros
meet some great people, good pay
Cons
long hours, work mostly 6 days a week, no hands on with above management on a regular basies, lack of training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace but enjoyable
Center Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLFebruary 8, 2018
Advance America is a great place to work as long as you have the drive to grow the office. You need to have an owner attitude with this company. Management was great. I hated to leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNFebruary 6, 2018
Poor management, long hours and sometimes had to work alone, stressful, it was an ok place to work for if u had a good manager to work with. Didn't allow any overtime.
Pros
Days off
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Senior Postgres DBA (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCFebruary 4, 2018
Friendly, knowledgeable people with flexible work hours and the opportunity to work from home.

Willingness to invest in hardware and new technology to solve or improve business processes.

Very Collaborative and respectful place to work.
Pros
Working environment
Cons
Dress Code
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great ddo, but bad pay
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNFebruary 3, 2018
I was a great employee, and got this job just 3 months after turning 18. 2 months later, i was promoted to assistant manager! This was great, though the pay was only $10.50 an hour.. this is considering that I was just as in charge as the manager. I was responsible for check audits, file audits, customer complaints and satisfaction. Phone calls, marketing, cleaning, bank runs, collections, P&L and so much more. M-th you worked 9a-630p (depending how long it takes you to count and close the center) fridays was 8a-730p & saturdays was 830a-230p
Sundays you were off.. the good thing though, was you got 2 weeks pto a year, paid holidays, 5 sick days, floating holidays (such as when christmas falls on sunday, you can use a floating holiday any time of the year and get paid for it since christmas didn't fall on a work day, meaning you wouldnt have gotten holiday pay). They also offer pretty decent maternity leave. I only left because i had a baby.
Pros
Paid time off
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hours - no appreciation
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Leesburg, FLFebruary 2, 2018
I worked 5 - 6 days a week (alone) with a 1 hour lunch from open to close. During my lunch break, my manager told me that I had to do business development because the store had to grow in that area and there wasn't another employee there while I was there to cover so I could go out during my on the clock hours. I was also told that I had to conduct my personal business in the area with my name tag on so I could do free advertising and marketing. I lived 1/2 hour away. I didn't want to do my shopping there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXFebruary 1, 2018
This job is very cut throat they lie and decieve always have you on edge about job security. After being employed with them realized it was a mistake.
Pros
Cleanliness
Cons
Managment, Staffing
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJanuary 31, 2018
All though this is a fast pace job they are laid back. as long as you give 100% they give you 100%. great chance of advancement too. You will love working here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Advance America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

1.0Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss