Advance Auto Parts Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 4,683 reviews
Ratings breakdown
51.2K
41.4K
31.3K
2502
1361
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 4,671 reviews matching the search See all 4,681 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Inman, SCJuly 19, 2018
I would still be here but I was on light duty due to a shoulder injury and was going to have surgery. I looked for a job that would not evolve so much lifting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It helped my customer service
car parts sales (Former Employee) –  orlando, flJuly 19, 2018
it helped me become strong on car service and identifying car parts. I'm able to help customer with suggesting the best oil to lube their car with and suggest some chemicals that would help their fuel efficiency.
Pros
i love the discount
Cons
20 average hours a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Riverdale, GAJuly 19, 2018
Moving up in this company is very hard. They want you to provide excellent work related tasks and always go above and beyond but they want to pay you little to nothing for your hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management and schedule conflicts.
Parts Driver (Former Employee) –  Lowell, MAJuly 19, 2018
The management didn't communicate well, if at all. And they would always call you in and say the schedule "wasn't supposed to be that way" or they would forget to post the next week's schedule altogether.
Pros
Easy work. Most time spent on the road.
Cons
Bad management. Schedule conflicts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for a Car enthusiast
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Largo, FLJuly 19, 2018
Enjoyed working there because i loved to work on cars and was able to help people that weren't always knowledgeable with cars find the right parts for their vehicle
Pros
awesome discounts on parts
Cons
working outside in the weather conditions when it was bad weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and learning career
CLOSING MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Mt. Penn, PAJuly 18, 2018
working for advance auto parts an employe can learn things that they might not know when starting the position. They teach the new comers about cars and what they need to fix the issue for the customer. You can learn a lot about vehicles, such as maintenance supplements to keep your vehicle running until you take it to the shop.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Greenwood, MSJuly 18, 2018
It was so much going on inside that I rather not leave a review at the moment. Some of the people can really show you so much as far as part knowledge, if they are trying to help and not trying to date you.
.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company
Cashier management (Former Employee) –  Middletown, DEJuly 18, 2018
Advance Auto should value the good workers they have and allow them to use there skills. Notice the hard work the employees have to do in retail during all hours.
Pros
Great discounts
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance is a nice place to work
Commercial Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Township of Howell, NJ 07731July 18, 2018
A nice place to work. Salary is low so don't expect to have a growing bank account. Benefits are typical Obama Care that you pay high co-pays. You're now paying more for healthcare that before Obama Care.
Pros
A fun place to work if you like cars.
Cons
Low Salary/beneifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Starting point
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Topeka, KSJuly 18, 2018
If you can get your foot in the door, AAP is a good place to start building your customer service skills. The location and management of your particular branch may offer several places to work at if you find you don't mesh with a particular one.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance Auto Part
COMMERCIAL DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 18, 2018
Not bad company to work for the perks of the discounts are the best. lots of inside drama that management never put stop too. No room for growth in the company unless you knew someone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy but fun
Commercial Manager Sales (Former Employee) –  Parker, COJuly 18, 2018
some days were slow, but normally busy
learned new things about vehicles and to better take care of my customers
the work place was diverse, we all have a story and we learned to be a family
when i left, i left behind some really good people
i enjoyed pretty much all of it there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some stores are slow, some are fast and high volume
Personal mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COJuly 17, 2018
Completely depends on management, but chances are you will enjoy working at Advance autoparts. There is a lot of Corporate stipulations and codes that are absolutely ridiculous but that's what happens in a big company with a bunch of talking heads.
Cons
Hours can be very tolling if you work late and/or early
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Key Holder/Sales Lead (Current Employee) –  Salisbury, NCJuly 17, 2018
working at advance is by far not easy if you are not open to learning but once u gain the experience its great. I have been an employee for three years for the amount of effort I put into my job I think I could be making more than I am but I guess that's apart of working in retail.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Specialized retail
Commercial Parts Pro (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJuly 17, 2018
Advance Auto Parts believes in a high level of customer service. Any complaints I have are typical of all retail giants. Overall, it's a good company.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
parts driver/cashier (Current Employee) –  Parlin, NJJuly 17, 2018
The manager in my store is wonderful, I can't say that for all the stores. Overall, I think they need to pay employees more. It is hard for them to get and keep reliable employees because of their pay scale.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok customer service
Delivery Driver/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 17, 2018
Management needs to be consistant and fair with employees hours and advancement opportunities. Female workers deserve the same respect and advancement opportunities as the male employees.
Pros
Part discount
Cons
No steady hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Beginner Job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sidney, NYJuly 17, 2018
A typical work day consisted of making sales, assisting customers, and organizing inventory. Learned key components to parts sales and good costumer relations.
Pros
Learned more about parts and vehicle diagnostics.
Cons
Fluctuating work hours, Understaffed, Unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance was an okay place to work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TN 38118July 16, 2018
The Job alone was easy, I had one of the Best managers in my District. She worked/works at the Getwell store in Memphis, TN. She was the main reason I stayed, Only reason i left was because I figured school would do me justice, since the company kept cutting my hours and not raising my pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lacking
Automotive Parts Pro (Former Employee) –  Lake Stevens, WAJuly 16, 2018
boring environment
toxic people, hotheaded people especially managers
lacks management
coming to work is the hardest
going home most enjoyable
should not have women working in this store
Pros
nothing
Cons
lacking everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Advance Auto Parts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Diversity score

56out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Advance Auto Parts.

Powered by Comparably