Advocate Health Care Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere with great co-workers
Senior Accountant (Current Employee) –  Downers Grove, ILSeptember 6, 2018
Ability to work independently
Great team work/collaboration on projects.
Mood boosting lunches & activities several times per year.
Open environment. Very few offices.
Pros
Great culture
Cons
Commute (for me)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place as a new RN
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Normal, ILSeptember 1, 2018
I couldn't have asked for a better starting point! The experience, the support, the pay...I really couldn't ask for anything more from my first job as a Registered Nurse. I'm proud to work for Advocate BroMenn Medical Center and can see myself here for many more years!
Pros
Experience, teamwork, salary
Cons
Costly benefits, hospital culture issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced always changing
HR Consultant (Former Employee) –  Downers Grove, ILAugust 28, 2018
Your daily schedule was continually changing based on meeting the needs and wants of the areas that you were supporting. Challenges were presented continually to be creative and fresh thinking in meeting the needs of those you served while gaining buy in from respective management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Libertyville, ILAugust 27, 2018
You are always maintain your self busy. Greet patients and visitors always with a smile. There might be really busy days when discharges come back to back and new patients coming in.
Pros
Good invironment
Cons
Short on staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Downers Grove, ILAugust 16, 2018
You must be prepared to work in a very structured environment with multiple shareholders and accountabilities. Priorities are always changing and you must adapt.
Pros
Collaborative
Cons
Shifting priorities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity in Health Care
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILAugust 15, 2018
A large non-profit corporation encompassing several hospitals and health care groups that offers a world of opportunity to provide service to the community by providing care to patients to access care & recover well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company in transition and growth
Short stay as a nurse auditor (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook, ILAugust 9, 2018
Not quite ready to have finance dept to support desired growth. Not very open to improvement of systems to give employees a better advantage to increase revenue. Not a receptive environment due to fear of change.
Pros
my experience was more than adequate for job performance
Cons
My experience was not an advantage to a fearful staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to Work
Correspondence Clerk (Current Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILAugust 1, 2018
Great co workers and fun place to work. Office is very close to home. Open and airy office with modern flare. Leadership listens and takes action when necessary. Lots of perks throughout the year.
Pros
Nice Perks
Cons
PTO Schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management are clueless
Logistics tech (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 31, 2018
i been working for advocate and two managers and coordinators don't what i do for years
the only ones that move up or get better raises are the favorites
Cons
worst hospital i ever worked for
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a new postion
Registered Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 29, 2018
As this was my first nursing position, I was very grateful to be hired. there were some eat the young on my floor, but I survived and worked with some great people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits.
Advocate South Suburban Hospital (Current Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILJuly 29, 2018
Advocate is now Advocate Aurora Health. Many changes are pending. Not sure if that's good or bad. I have been with Advocate for over 40 years and they have been a nice place to work. I am now looking for part time employment and currently there is not much available within Advocate, so that is why I am looking outside of Advocate. I need health insurance benefits, so that my limit my opportunities.
Pros
Decent benefits including PTO
Cons
Management could be much better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience!
Center Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 26, 2018
Great place to work for, I had the opportunity to work with bright, dedicated professionals and had many opportunities to advance my education through professional development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Internal Operations Consultant (Current Employee) –  Downers Grove, ILJuly 25, 2018
Large company with lots of opportunity, my job requires travel to various sites across the organization which provides good networking opportunities and to experience cultures across Advocate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i like to work on advocate health care
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  advocate Christ at OaklawnJuly 21, 2018
I really enjoy my work at advocate,and learned a lot of things,but sometimes its difficult to understand what mangers wants and the workplace where i worked was very good and helpful,in some clinics there are lot of paper work and i enjoyed a lot when clinics are busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 21, 2018
ADVOCATE is a great place to work, there are not many advancements for employee's . but once you get in a position you like its easy to stay there. on a typical day its very fast paced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect Work Life Balance
Gift Planning Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Park Ridge, ILJuly 18, 2018
Advocate believes the family comes first. They offer many full and part-time jobs with full benefits.

Each of the hospital have fitness center, exercise classes and training.

Working at a hospital is like being at home.
Pros
Gym, Cafeteria, Gift Shop
Cons
Associate Parking tends to be a problem
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Nursing Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 15, 2018
Great Place to work. I remain employed. I have no intentions of leaving at this point. Advocate is a large System with multiple places to work. There is no need to leave unless you are leaving the city.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Managerial Support- No Work/Life Balance
Med Tech (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILJuly 14, 2018
No work life balance at all, ever. There is more focus on upper Management being held up on pedestals, rather than true, honest collaboration and teamwork.
The information systems are archaic, outdated and unsupported for a healthcare system of this size - so the solution? work staff to the breaking point! Everything is handled with mountains of paper.
Staff must use PTO for holidays.
Staff are only allowed 30 minutes for break for an 8.5 hour day.
Pros
decent pay, front line staff are great
Cons
poor integrity of upper managers, no support
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Surgery Scheduler/HUC (Former Employee) –  Hazel Crest, ILJuly 8, 2018
Great organization to work for my department & shifts was a great team who worked very hard and put the patient needs first. I would recommend them to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starbucks next door
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 2, 2018
patient making appointments
call centers are not for doctor's offices
Mgmt sucks
employees grumpy
hours not good10 min break 30 min lunch

going homes
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Advocate Health Care. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 478 reviews
5167
4157
386
230
138

See reviews about

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

4.0Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.